A “Favorites” Spot

20140413-171502.jpg
I love The Sound of Music.

It’s one of those rare movies I’ve watched more than a couple of times and never seem to get tired of. In the spirit of one of its songs, here’s a few of my favorite things from the past week (or so).

As you go through them, you’ve got to sing along to the tune. It’s required. ๐Ÿ™‚

“Brown dogs and bulldogs and warm spring-time sunsets…

20140412-215316.jpg

20140412-215338.jpg

20140412-215601.jpg

…ice cream and seed trays and cute calves I’ve just met…

20140413-154703.jpg

20140413-154728.jpg

20140413-154741.jpg

…family and friends and a door bell that dings. These are a few of my favorite things.”

20140413-155052.jpg
{My parent’s; not taken in the last week. Though I was there Friday!}

It was a warm week for April in Minnesota, and much of our snow is melted away. My running went really well. Until it didn’t.

I had a little ache in my right shin early in the week, but I dismissed it without much thought. Sore is normal during the thick of marathon training, but Thursday morning it really hurt. I ran slow – extremely slow – and by the time I got home it was throbbing. I’ve been icing, stretching, and wearing compression sleeves daily since then.

I took Friday off, and Saturday I decided I would cut my run short if I felt the pain was altering my stride. I’d originally wanted to run 20 miles, but I settled for 14.5. I felt decent for the first 12 and rough for the rest, so at least I know I should be able to tough through the Earth Day half marathon next weekend. Actually, I’m sure it will be better for racing the half that I didn’t run a full 20.

And, I still have the confidence of the great 20 I ran two weeks ago.

In the meantime, I’ll keep assessing my leg day by day. This week will be easy anyway because of my Saturday race, and I’m hoping this turns out to be a small thing my nerves are blowing out of proportion.

If it’s more than that, I’ll deal with it as it comes. I’m still really excited for my first race in nearly 8 MONTHS.

I had a big week in spite of cutting Saturday short. If I counted Sunday – Saturday miles, I’d be at 47. I count Monday – Sunday though, and here are the details.

Marathon Training April 7-13

Monday – 6.2 miles in 60:00, easy with a few pickups, HR 147
Tuesday – off
Wednesday – 9.08 miles in 1:21:59 with 3 x 1.5 miles at 8:30 pace
Thursday – 6.13 miles in 62:24, very easy, HR 135
Friday – off
Saturday – 14.5 miles in 2:24:30, easy
Sunday – off

Total – 35.9 miles

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Running, Spot of the Week and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A “Favorites” Spot

  1. Lisa Wuertz says:

    I sure hope your shin feels better! There is always something to remind us that training is hard on the body. I enjoyed your pictures too, thanks for sharing. I’m thinking maybe you just need a big ol’ piece of ice cream cake to make your shin feel better!

  2. Adriane Heins says:

    Does your pup have two different colored eyes?! I’m intrigued!

  3. Seeds waiting to grow… such a great thing to be thankful for ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Suzanne says:

    The Sound of Music is my Mom’s favorite movie of all time. My sister and I watched it sooo many times as children and now her soon is a Sound of Music lover too. By the way, your parent’s house is beautiful!

Leave a Reply

