A Spot for an Idea

20140406-231051.jpg
Since the beginning of training this winter, I’ve been thinking about a cause to dedicate my marathon to. It’s a small race with no need to sign up with a charity to gain entry, and I never envisioned fundraising on a huge scale.

Truth?

I don’t even like asking people for money. You never know which families are already pinching pennies, and I don’t want to add to that stress. I also really want to run this marathon. I enjoy the journey and the training. Why should people donate money for me to do something I want to do anyway?

{I’ll stop there because I don’t want to talk you out of it. 🙂 }

I will just say that in the last week I’ve found an idea and a cause that’s squelched my reservations. It has gotten me even more energized to run, and I hope it will resonate with you too.

It’s late and I want to do justice to the details, so please look for a new post early this week on what I’ll be running for! Now I should be doing as this lady does and getting some Zzz’s…

20140406-234540.jpg

But I’ll share the week’s training first. I kept it mellow after the numbers last week, and hopefully I’ll be ready for another big week starting tomorrow.

Marathon Training March 31 – April 6

Monday – off
Tuesday – 3.15 miles easy-ish fartlek in 30:00
Wednesday – 5.13 miles easy in 47:57
Thursday – off
Friday – 5.25 miles in 47:11 with 4 x 800m @ 7:54, 3 x 400m @ 7:42
Saturday – off
Sunday – 11 miles easy, not timed

Total – 24.5 miles

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

