A Spot of Spring

With April just around the corner, it’s inevitable that snow is melting and and spring is slowly coming. Yes, I know spring officially arrived on March 20th, but that doesn’t always mean much in Minnesota!

We got fresh snow on Thursday, and now it’s already so stark and brown again amid the leftover grey piles of snow. Somehow it’s pretty in the plainness. I haven’t shared an ordinary look around lately, so I’ve decided to give you a peek at the last week.

20140331-070308.jpg

20140331-070426.jpg

20140331-070446.jpg

20140331-070510.jpg

20140331-070528.jpg

20140331-070547.jpg
This last one is just me celebrating the first outdoor run I’ve done in shorts all year!

Overall I couldn’t have asked for a better training week. I eased in to my runs with some shorter efforts, had a nice speed session on Thursday, and felt good enough Saturday to tackle 20 miles. The pulled muscles that were painful last week now just feel like a very mild side ache. I’m hoping the ache will fully go away soon, but right now it’s totally manageable. I also couldn’t believe how relaxed I stayed over 20 miles, keeping my heart rate around 150 for the run. I ran everything outside this week except the 7 miles on Thursday, and my legs feel better and my heart just doesn’t have to work as hard when I’m running outdoors.

Here are the details…

Marathon Training March 24-30

Monday – 3.5 miles in 32:20, easy in light snow outdoors
Tuesday – 4.26 miles in 39:59 easy
Wednesday – off
Thursday – 7.38 miles in 1:07:00 with 3 miles @ 8:25, 3x400m @ 7:54, HR 170
Friday – off
Saturday – 20.1 miles in 3:08:38 moderate pace with last 2 miles @ 8:50, 8:33, HR 152
Sunday – 5.53 miles in 54:15, very easy recovery run

Total – 40.8 miles

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Boo the bulldog, Calvin, Running, Spot of the Week and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Spot of Spring

  1. Wow! 20 miles! Someday I will work up to that. I’m currently nursing an injury too, so I hear you on that front. I’m glad your long winter is seeing an end.

  2. Great job! I would usually agree with you on the indoor vs. outdoor effort, but for some reason, during this training cycle, I can run faster and better inside. Inside, I can run around a 10:00 pace. Outside, my legs feel like bricks and I am lucky to run an 11:30 pace. I’m hoping my inside pace shows up on race day in a week and a half. 😉

Leave a Reply

