A Little Bird Spot

When I’m training for a big race, I can’t help but follow the latest running trends and news. Actually, I like to do this even if I don’t have a single race on the calendar. I’m not just a runner, I’m a running fan. I know people claim it’s “boring to watch people run,” but I’ve been captivated by it since my track and field days.

I suppose because I used to run events like the 100 meter hurdles and the 400 meters, I fully appreciate just how taxing those races can be and how fast the elite times are.

As a marathoner myself, I can also relate to the struggle and elation of those who tackle 26.2. While it may take me almost double as long as the best in the world to cover the distance, I still see progress in my own journey and rejoice in each finish.

So yes, I am a running fan. Two – okay three – things in sports really make me wish I were in the stands and get me ready to cheer. Twins baseball, Gopher sports, and running events. (Read, the Olympics, US Champs, Boston, Millrose, NYC Marathon, etc or even a local track meet.)

Racing against each other is such a pure and simple thing. Runners want to be the best, but more importantly, they want to be their best. I know with each run I take, I believe in myself a little bit more and I’m another step closer to being my best.

Why am I sharing all this today?

Truth be told, it was a rough week. I’m still fighting allergies, and I’ve got sore, tender muscles in my right rib cage. Things started hurting so badly this week that I finally went to the doctor. Mainly I was relieved to learn I hadn’t cracked a rib and my appendix wasn’t about to burst.

When other things were ruled out and the doctor learned I was a farmer, he simply nodded his head and said it would be pretty easy to pull or strain some muscles on the farm. Now I’m armed with muscle relaxers for bedtime, permission to take extra Ibuprofren, orders to “take it a little easier” at work but the ok to exercise as normal as long as things don’t hurt worse.

I’m up in the air about what this means for my race time goals, but I’ve still got April 19th (half marathon) and May 10th (marathon) circled on the calendar to be ready to run the very best I can.

20140323-132132.jpg

20140323-132158.jpg
From karagoucher.com and Oiselle.com

Because I follow running news, I came across headlines this week that Kara Goucher, one of the best known and most beloved US marathoners, is leaving her Nike sponsorship for a small women’s running apparel company called Oiselle. I’ve followed Kara’s career for years, and I also know Oiselle because another of my favorites, Lauren Fleshman, signed with them last year.

Oiselle is French for bird, and this company really encourages women to fly. On her blog, Kara talks about finding passion and excitement with founder Sally and everyone at Oiselle. She made a choice to take a smaller contract because of her need to be with a company that stands for the same values she does.

It’s an incredibly cool and rare thing to watch a top athlete walk away from the biggest money contracts as Kara did and instead, “listened to my heart and taken a chance on a little flock of birds.”

I think their whole flock is certainly in the middle of something incredible.

The entire thing is just a feel-good story that has me excited about tackling everything with positivity and thankfulness to God that I can.

Now for the week in review. I know these numbers below are underwhelming, but I post them with the knowledge that rest AND miles will heal me and make me stronger. I wanted to run long on Saturday, but I’m grateful that my more sensible husband, who normally stays out of my running completely, convinced me otherwise.

Marathon Training March 17 – 23

Monday – off
Tuesday – off
Wednesday – off
Thursday – 4.22 miles in 41:00 easy
Friday – 4.05 miles in 38:37 easy
Saturday – 7 miles in 67:04, easy
Sunday – off

Total – 15.3 miles

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Running, Spot of the Week and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Little Bird Spot

  1. Lisa Wuertz says:

    Hi Lisa, I hope you are feeling better soon! It’s frustrating to not be able to run like you want, but you are strong and fit, and I’m sure you’ll bounce back quickly!!

Leave a Reply

