Sometimes You Just Need Pot Roast

If you read my marathon training, farming, and eating guest blog last week, you’ll remember I said when “you’re running lots of miles every week you’re always hungry.”

This is undeniably true.

I’ve always had a healthy appetite back to the days I grew up on whole milk, meat, potatoes, garden veggies, and my mom’s homemade apple crisp.

Farming and marathon training seem to combine to create a whole new space in my stomach that gets hungry and needs to be filled. Among runners, we even joke that training gives us “runger.”

While I fully believe in the value of lettuce and tomato with feta and an apple and banana nearly everyday, I crave more. This girl likes beef!

To get full and stay full, I need the protein, fat, and filling-ness of meat, eggs, and dairy.

I don’t share a lot of recipes on the blog because it’s not the way I cook. My baking adventures require instructions, but cooking is all about putting things in a skillet or pot until they taste good.

For the sake of recipe-liking cooks, I’m going to try my best at sharing one tonight. If you’ve ever been skeptical about pot roast, I hope these ideas inspire you to give it a try.

My Slow Cooker Beef Pot Roast

– 1 beef roast (rump or chuck), 3-4 lbs.
– 2 tablespoons butter (or olive oil)
– 3-4 medium red potatoes, quartered
– 2-3 large carrots, peeled and chopped
– 1 large onion, chopped
– 1 clove garlic, chopped
– 1 can stewed tomatoes (or fresh frozen)
– 1 tsp. Italian seasoning
– 1 tsp. thyme
– 1 bay leaf
– 1 beef buillon cube
– 1 cup water
– 1/8 cup Worcestershire sauce
– dash of red wine, if you please
– salt and pepper

Directions:

Add butter to a skillet and brown roast on all sides. (You can also brown the onion and garlic if you have time.)

20140318-200808.jpg

Transfer roast to a large slow cooker, and add in the veggies, seasonings, water, and wine. Don’t forget to salt and pepper generously.

I always have frozen tomatoes in my freezer so I use them, but stewed tomatoes work well too.

Don’t be afraid to switch around the veggies if needed or sub out seasonings you don’t prefer. The bay leaf is worth it though, honest. Throw in two if you can. (And remove them prior to serving.)

20140318-201601.jpg

Cook on low for 10-12 hours until beef is tender and kitchen smells amazing.

A few notes:

-My crockpot is big. You can use a smaller roast and roughly 1/2 the other ingredients if you wish.

-For extra awesomeness, make the broth into gravy. Blend about 1/4 cup of flour or cornstarch into cold water until smooth. Put broth in a sauce pan, and slowly add flour mixture to hot broth. Boil and stir until thickened. Use more flour if needed.

-This recipe is versatile and forgiving. If you don’t brown the meat first, just add it directly to the crockpot and it will be fine. Switch around your veggies and seasonings as I mentioned above.

– Even easier variation: Another delicious way to serve beef is burgundy style. I make this easily as follows. Put your browned roast in the crockpot. Add chopped onion and garlic. Top with 1 package dry onion soup mix, 2 cans cream of mushroom soup, and 1.5 – 2 cups red wine. Salt and pepper. Cook on low until tender. Serve with sautΓ©ed mushrooms.

– Pot roast is always better with homemade biscuits and butter. Trust me.

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Cooking and Foods and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sometimes You Just Need Pot Roast

  1. Adriane Heins says:

    This came at JUST the right time. Working on meal planning for next week and will add these ingredients to my grocery list. Thank you!

    • Lisa says:

      I have a feeling you’re like me in that you always have a freezer of beef and want new ideas for using it. πŸ™‚

      Hope you guys like this! Go w/ your instincts & feel free to experiment with your ingredients.

  2. cdmiller07 says:

    I brought a whole roast (slow cooker included) to work and ate it one day….I don’t think I’ll ever live that down haha. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

Leave a Reply

