Spot of the Week: Derailed?

20140317-213150.jpg
You know those weeks when things don’t go the way you envision?

Those weeks?

When work is busy, time is short, dinner is frozen-something, you’ve got a cold or allergies or both, and even your trusty car is mad at you?

20140317-095734.jpg

The spring thaw always creates some chaos at the farm because calves and hutches need to be moved from a melted, muddy field down to drier quarters.

Our winter area in the field is easily accessible and more sheltered from northwest storms, but not so good once the ground gets too soft.

Our paved feed area is full of feed in the fall after we finish harvest, but by spring as the feed gets used there’s more and more empty space. I would’ve liked to start moving the calves to the tar earlier this year, but we had to wait until the ice and snow started to melt enough to clear it off.
20140317-192758.jpg
Fresh hutches with feed in the background.
20140317-192831.jpg
Only the littlest babies need coats in the more mild weather.

Since Friday we’ve relocated about 75 calves, and I finally feel there’s light at the end of the tunnel. My car tire is even fixed! And the forecast says a full-blown Minnesota blizzard tomorrow with 6-12 inches of snow.

I’m still in denial about that last part.

Yesterday morning about 6:30, as I checked for new calves and mulled over all the work that needed to get done, I thought about my running for the week.

I’d run 2 miles instead of 6 on Wednesday because my sinuses were so ornery, and I hadn’t managed my long run at all on Saturday.

With last week being less than planned (only 20 miles) and this week coming apart at the seams, were my efforts derailed?

Does it even matter?

I’m probably being too dramatic here, but it’s easy to start doubting yourself. At least for me.

I decided then and there my efforts were not derailed unless I believed them to be. I can still do this. I ran 16 miles just two short Saturdays ago.

I also decided I could and would run when I got home on Sunday night. Outside if possible, inside if need be. (It was dark when I got home, so inside it was.)

One of the verses I frequently turn to when I need some perspective comes from 1 Thessalonians. It states, “Be joyful always. Pray continually. Give thanks in all circumstances. For this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.”

Joy. Pray. Give thanks.

I don’t claim this verse because I always feel happy or thankful. Often it’s more of an attempted call to action.

It can feel almost impossible to rejoice and give thanks when things pile up until you’re dizzy from the momentum. When I’m tired and sick prayer can be the last thing on my mind.

I think that’s the power in this verse. When it seems like everything may derail, God is there reminding you beauty and joy can be found in the hardest places. You just need to ask Him to show you where.

I don’t know what this week will bring either, but I do know I won’t be derailed. I’m going to keep moving forward.

Marathon Training March 10 – 16

Monday – 5.11 miles in 47:25 with 3 miles at 8:57, 158 HR
Tuesday – off
Wednesday – 2 miles in 19:00, 155 HR (still sick…)
Thursday – off
Friday – 4.44 miles in 40:00, progressively faster run, 9:01 average pace
Saturday – off
Sunday – 11 miles in 1:43:40 with 2 x 1 mile in 8:57, 2 x 2 miles in 8:55, 166 HR

Total – 22.6 miles

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Christian Reflections, Running, Spot of the Week and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spot of the Week: Derailed?

  1. Rebecca says:

    One week won’t make or break your training. Especially if you’ve been sick, sometimes your body needs the rest anyway.

    Love those baby calves!

Leave a Reply

