Marathons, Farming, Spring, and Me!

Spring showed up a few days ago, and now we’ve got warm sunshine, melting snow, and more mud than we know what to do with. Every season brings its own challenges!

Just because it was 50 degrees today doesn’t mean we can’t get plenty more snow in March and April. Only time will tell if spring is here to stay.

While it lasts, I’m excited to get in some longer runs outside without worrying about covering my face and wearing 3+ layers! It’s also more pleasant at the farm for animals and people alike as we do our day-to-day routine.

20140313-214445.jpg
Hanging out yesterday with my girls in the sunshine.

My training will move along no matter the weather, and today I realized I’m already half done with my self-declared 16 weeks of “official training.”

My thoughts on running, eating, farming, and more were also featured recently on the Dairy Makes Sense blog.

Check out the link to read about why I run and see a few fun pictures from my winter training.

20140313-213002.jpg
This is me last year in mid-April. Can you guess why I’m not convinced spring is here to stay? 😉

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Cooking and Foods, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Marathons, Farming, Spring, and Me!

  1. MikeW says:

    what a great blog!

  2. I am SO happy to welcome spring! It has been such a loooonnnggg winter. While the mud and muck is not my favorite, it is much better than snow!

  3. Terzah says:

    I love how your “girls” look a little different. :^)

    I hope spring sticks around! I expect we’ll be getting some more cold weather here, too, before all is said and done.

  4. We had HUGE snowflakes in Blaine, MN this morning. I’m not convinced spring is truly here yet.

Leave a Reply

