A Spot of Dusk

The days are getting longer, even though daylight savings time took away an hour of sunshine this morning without my consent.

It just seems too cold and wintry to set the clocks ahead. Still, if it means we’re one step closer to spring I’ll happily comply.

I’ve been noticing the lengthening days because sunset is now right around the time we feed milk bottles. As of tonight, we’ll have plenty of daylight for evening calf chores until autumn.

Here’s a look at some of what I saw during the week as the light was changing.

20140309-114153.jpg

20140309-114237.jpg

20140309-114425.jpg

20140309-114504.jpg
This is the little barn at our place where the ducks and geese hang out. I feel like it needs a caption, but I’m at a loss. Do you have a suggestion?

Marathon Training

Several things happened this week in training worth noting. First, I seem to have reached that comfortable level of fitness where I can run 10 miles, eat, shower, and happily continue on with my day without feeling like I need a nap — or an IV. ๐Ÿ™‚

I also opened up a new box of shoes yesterday – my last new pair of Wave Rider 15’s – after realizing my current pairs have over 400 and over 500 miles on them respectively.

20140309-205351.jpg
In spite of feeling energetic enough after yesterday’s run, today I feel blah. I’ve got a sore throat, an uneasy stomach, and an annoying tightness in my left piriformis muscle. This little muscle usually acts up at some point during a training cycle for me, and I hope stretching and rolling will keep it manageable. I don’t write this to be melodramatic; I guess I write this so you know I have up and down days too. I’m enjoying training, but training also means being tired, being sore sometimes, and trying to figure out when to keep pushing and when to take an extra day off.

In spite of it being a mild 40* today and me wanting to hit 25 miles for the week, I did take today off. It makes this week’s miles look lackluster, but the numbers aren’t everything.

March 3 – 9

Monday – 3.5 miles in 30:00 with 5 x 800m at 5K pace
Tuesday – 3.01 miles in 31:00 very easy, 143 HR, core
Wednesday – 4.17 miles in 38:00 with varied speed and incline (fartlek run)
Thursday – off
Friday – off
Saturday – 10.06 miles in 1:32:04, last 4 miles about half marathon pace, 151 HR
Sunday – off / stretch & core

Total – 20.7 miles

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Running, Spot of the Week and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Spot of Dusk

  1. lifecorked says:

    Love, love, love my Wave Riders! Will never go back to anything else. Still surprised by how few people know about Mizunos. Keep up the good work! I might try to start running again this spring. Had to quit years ago because of bursitis in my knee. The elliptical is my new best friend๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

