A Dog Spot

Another week in the books.

I think in the past seven days, we’ve had two of the most pleasant and two of the most brutal this winter.

Last Sunday night, the winds were just starting to swirl the first snowflakes as I finished feeding milk bottles to the baby calves. I knew we were in for a storm, and Monday morning brought a snowy dawn indeed.

That afternoon as the snow tapered off, we cleared drifts around the barns and driveway, shoveled the calf hutch yards, and anticipated the Tuesday forecast. That didn’t disappoint either. Tuesday and Wednesday both brought sunny skies, melting snow, and almost 40 degrees. Blissful.

Storms were moving in again for Thursday, and Thursday night brought wind and white-out like I’ve never seen. Somehow we got chores done, and I tried to be extra cautious on the drive home. Honest!

The snow and wind were just so thick that somehow I slowly veered to the left until I was driving in the ditch. And then I hit a snow bank. I could barely see it, but I felt it.

I’m supremely thankful that the loader could come and rescue me. Though I felt terrible that JR and my father-in-law had to brave the blizzard more than necessary to pull me out. In fairness, someone is up all night running the loader anyway during heavy snow. They need to keep our gravel road and driveway clear enough for the milk truck and employees to get through.

20140223-162537.jpgThere’s not much she can’t pull out.

Friday brought wicked wind, and about five of us all spent many hours to shovel out the hutches with yards… Again.

20140223-162700.jpg
This kind of snow can be pushed away with a bucket and loader.

This kind can not…

20140223-162839.jpg

It takes shovels and man power.

20140223-162957.jpg
And then a loader can drive along and push out the front road again!

I suppose you’re wondering why I called this a dog spot when all I’m doing is complaining about the weather?
20140223-225418.jpg

Well, the dogs aren’t thrilled with the weather either.

20140223-164437.jpg

Calvin scowled at the snow, and Boo just avoided it.

20140223-164801.jpg

As for my training… work and weather curbed things a little. It’s strange how fitting in 31 miles last week seemed easier than about half that many this week.

I’d planned to cut back my long run and intensity this week anyway, so it worked itself out! Now I’ll just keep charging ahead. 🙂

Marathon Training February 17-23

Monday – off (with several hours of shoveling wet, heavy snow)
Tuesday – 5.2 miles in 47:00 with 6 x 800 m @ 5K pace, 166 HR (plus some more shoveling)
Wednesday – 3.37 miles easy in 34:00, 150 HR
Thursday – off
Friday – 5 miles in 46:20 with 2 x 1 mile @ 8:27, 800 m @ 8:10, 158 HR (plus, you guessed it, lots of shoveling)
Saturday – off
Sunday – about 3.5 miles easy

Total – 17.1 miles

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Boo the bulldog, Calvin, Running, Spot of the Week and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Dog Spot

  1. Wow! Even though running mileage was less, sounds like you got some great core work and cross training in with all the shoveling!!

  2. Terzah says:

    Hi Lisa! I haven’t checked in for a while, but I had a feeling the snow up there would be pretty amazing. Makes me feel better about my measly little sidewalk and driveway requiring shoveling. I’m glad you were OK sliding into that ditch. What are you training for these days?

    • Lisa says:

      Hello Terzah; good to hear from you! Yes, it’s nearly arctic up here. The news & weather people keep saying it’s been the coldest winter in 20 or 30 (or 1,000) years, and I believe it.

      I’m training toward a half in April and a full in May, Lake Wobegon Trail. It’s a smaller race fairly local to me, and the goal is sub-4. How about you?

Leave a Reply

