The Christmas Calf- Spot 2

My second official week of training has come and gone. Good is an apt description. I did find out I can successfully run for five consecutive days. Normally I like to go only two or three in a row, but you might have noticed I was busy at an important event over the weekend.

Read: my baby sister got married!

Before we get to the running, let’s get to the spot.

20140204-141248.jpg

I took these festive shots at the new year but neglected to post them on my blog. Behold, our Christmas calf is all dressed up.

20140204-141455.jpg

20140204-141512.jpg

Training January 27 – February 2

Monday- 4.05 miles in 36:00 with 3 miles @ 8:30 GHP

Tuesday- 3.02 miles in 31:00 very easy, HR 147

Wednesday- 7.29 miles in 1:10:00 with last 2 miles @ 8:57 GMP, HR 156

Thursday- 2.25 miles in 22:00 easy, with 4 x 30 sec strides, HR 157

Friday- 3.7 miles in 33:44 (outside in 17 below) Started easy & picked up pace as I warmed up. I was bundled well & felt good!

Saturday- off for wedding weekend

Sunday- off for wedding weekend

Total – 20.3 miles

GHP= goal half pace
GMP = goal marathon pace
HR = heart rate

I did some re-arranging, added a few miles to Wednesday’s run, and I feel good about my efforts for the week. I do realize I probably could have squeezed in a run sometime over the weekend, but lately I’ve come to realize something else.

I want to soak up the moments that matter.

Sometimes that means enjoying a great run, and sometimes that means leaving my shoes sit until another day. A few missed runs will not de-rail my training. Instead of getting up at the crack of dawn on Saturday to run 10 miles before my wedding hair appointment, I slept in a bit. I chatted with my sisters and drank coffee. I fried eggs and sausage for breakfast so my mom could enjoy her grandkids. Perfect.

In marathon training – at least in my marathon training – there are times when family needs to trump the plan.

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Baby Calf Care, Running, Spot of the Week and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Christmas Calf- Spot 2

  1. Rebecca says:

    Oh, that second picture of the calf is so funny! She looks worried.

    Off to a great start with marathon training, good for you for getting out in the cold!

  2. Love the baby cows! (or calves, but baby cows sounds cuter)

    I completely agree that there are moments that family trumps training. You can always run another race, but you can’t replace loved ones.

  3. 17 below?!?! You are brave. And I agree on soaking up the moments that count. It’s good to be dedicated, but you’ll remember that morning for a lot longer than you would’ve those 10 miles.

Leave a Reply

