Why I Keep an Eyelash Curler in my Car

I am a master at getting ready quickly.

If I come in from the barn with 10 minutes until go time, I can usually shower, dress, drag a comb and product through my hair, and be in the car with a cup of coffee and 1 minute to spare.

I store an assortment of suitable clothes and shoes in my in-laws basement at the farm because I’m so often leaving directly from work.

I don’t necessarily enjoy rushing around like a chicken to get ready for church, an appointment, or an evening out, but it seems to come with the territory of being a farmer. If I skipped things just because I didn’t have a full half-hour to get ready properly, I may never go anywhere. 😉

Still — I sometimes find myself shocked at my own level of disarray. I’ll glance down at rumpled running pants and barely tied shoes as I stand in the grocery store checkout line and hope I don’t look quite as mismatched as I feel.

Even if I didn’t work at the farm full time, I have a farmer husband who does. He’s apt to say he has a friend who wants to meet us for supper or a surprise commitment that gives me 20 minutes notice.

In all of these situations, enter the trusty eyelash curler.

Usually accompanied by a tube of mascara, lip gloss, and a compact of powder. While I may not bother to curl my eyelashes before grocery shopping, I can if I want to. You’d think that these items would get destroyed by sitting in my car at 20 below in the winter and 90 in the summer, but the curler and powder hold up fine. I try to discard the mascara every 6 months or so, and the lip balm is generally good unless it melts too much.

I know I don’t have kids yet so I shouldn’t assume, but I bet some of you moms can relate to the crazy dash to get ready. While I might not have time for full makeup, before leaving my car I can swipe mascara and powder on and curl my lashes in a few minutes. In a pinch, I just spend 20 seconds to curl my lashes. And I feel better – and more ready – to embrace wherever I’m going.

20140121-143640.jpg
The rear view mirror is handy for this; just make sure you’re in park first!

Maybe it’s because I wear coveralls and barn boots most days, but when I leave the farm I like to feel like a girl. {I suppose woman is a more age-appropriate term. I’m far closer to 30 than 20, but usually I feel young and often think about just how much I have left to learn.}

What about you? Am I the only one who keeps a handy stash in my vehicle? For the record, there’s usually sweets somewhere in my glovebox too. Chocolate would be preferable, but they get too melty in summer and rock hard at 20 below!

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Agriculture ( in general), This and That and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Why I Keep an Eyelash Curler in my Car

  1. Heidi Nicole says:

    You can do amazing things with your appearance en route if you have the right tools! I have concealer and mascara in nearly every backpack and chapstick of some sort stashed in every jacket and car cubby!

  2. I don’t store much of anything in my car, but I do know the art of getting ready quickly! The only makeup I really care about are mascara and blush (and concealer for any blemishes). That’s the main thing I miss about long hair – it was so much easier to get ready in a flash because I could just put it up in a ponytail. My hair has finally grown out a bit so that I can put it half up at least.

  3. I always have mascara in my purse for a last-minute spiff-up. If the hubby and I are going somewhere together and I want to have makeup on, I make him drive and I put on makeup on our way.

  4. Suzanne says:

    I think I leave the house looking less than my best 99% of the time. I’m not sure what I’d do if someone took away my tshirts and workout shorts, capris, and pants and I had to wear actual clothes!

Leave a Reply

