Yearly Role Call

It’s cold, it’s blustery, and I’m tired of it — which is pretty much par for the middle of January.

We actually haven’t had a crazy amount of snow this winter, which I’m thankful for, but at the moment an Alberta Clipper is blowing around every flake of snow we do have.

How are things in your part of the world? I know some of you are near while others might be halfway across the globe. I hope January is bringing good things your way and 2014 will be bright for you.

20140116-154319.jpg
This morning a brilliant patch of blue sky to the north poked out amid the many hues of gray and white, and it reminded me so much of summer sky I had to extract my fingers from gloves to capture it.

It won’t be too many months before spring is on its way for real. Animals and people will be glad!

20140116-154556.jpg

The real topic on my brain today as the snow swirls around is a question and request for you. Yes, you!

My blog traffic is up, but comments over the past few months are definitely down. Which is fine. I know everyone is busy and many of us read blogs on mobile formats or hurriedly in our few spare minutes.

For the start of the year though, I thought it would be fun to request a role call of sorts. Just say hi (no personal details needed beyond what you wish to share) and tell me if there’s anything you’d like to hear about.

My blog had undergone several shifts in it’s 3+ years, and right now I’m again searching for inspiration. Do you like regular old tales from the farm? Or maybe I should start occasionally posting meals and recipes again?

I’m currently bumping up my running mileage in preparation for a spring marathon, and it’s been several years since I’ve recounted my training workouts in any detail. I finally realized it was kind of boring for me to share that I ran “6.06 miles in 55 minutes and felt good” only to follow it up with comments about “a tight left hamstring that didn’t want to stretch out.”

But, perhaps you would be interested in a weekly running post, and if so I could plan to hold myself accountable for writing it.

Maybe you’re content to follow my current chatter, which means about one post per week about whatever is on my mind when I sit down to write.

In any case, I’d love for you to take a moment to say hi. I really appreciate you stopping by here, and I’d like to hear from you. Calvin and Boo, who decided to stay out of the wind this afternoon, love hearing from you too. They say thanks in advance.

20140116-160411.jpg

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Agriculture ( in general), Running, This and That and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Yearly Role Call

  1. LisaW says:

    I love what you have been doing and the topics you’ve covered. Keep up the great stories! Your recaps of daily life on the farm are so relevant and real. I would like to hear more about your running and marathon training:)

    • Lisa says:

      Hi Lisa, Good to hear from you! Hope you’re surviving the winter ok. I will continue to update on my training. When I post about it then I’m a little more accountable too. šŸ™‚

      • LisaW says:

        I’m pretty seriously considering my first half this year, the Earth Day Half in April! Maybe we could hook up for one or two long runs sometime in February or March. We don’t live that far apart:)

      • Lisa says:

        I would love to! I think you may be faster than me, but sometimes the goal of a long run is an easy pace to cover the miles comfortably. šŸ™‚ I will check in with you about this.

  2. Bree says:

    Hi! You know I always read, but often don’t have time to comment or am on my phone.

    I would love to see a weekly running post. But I obviously enjoy reading about training šŸ™‚

  3. I love reading about your farm life because it’s completely opposite of my life, and I think it’s just so dang cool! šŸ™‚
    I do love getting new recipes and meal ideas too. And of course anything running related I can relate to as well. Don’t change a thing!

  4. Rebecca says:

    Hello! I’d love to hear about how your marathon training is going. I also like the farm posts, especially the pics of baby cows. šŸ™‚

  5. Kathy says:

    I’d like to hear more about running too but I also really enjoy the topics you’re already covering!

  6. Hi! I enjoy the random stories from the farm…and pictures of calves in jackets, of course!

    It looks like you guys don’t have as much snow as we do about 35 miles north/northeast of the Twin Cities. We definitely have more snow than we’ve had in a few years and I love it!

  7. Jena says:

    I wrote out a comment, and then got some error message. rawr.

    I want to read about whatever you want to write about. I love reading about the farm; it’s just so different than anything i’ve ever known. It’s fascinating to me!

  8. Suzanne says:

    Aww, Calvin and Boo look cozy! I’m a little behind with blog reading (as you can see) but I try to always comment if I have something good to add. Sometimes I’m not awake enough to type a comment that makes sense!

Leave a Reply

