Christmas Season on the Farm

Hello from the land of snow and cold!

Since I last updated you we really plunged into the deep freeze, along with the rest of the country. I know we went at least several days without getting temperatures above zero, and the windchill factor some nights dipped 30 to 40 below.

But… There is always a reprieve that comes. Yesterday it got up to 15 degrees, which felt positively nice and mild. Perspective can be a magical thing.

20131213-110454.jpg

20131213-110503.jpg

It was definitely warm enough yesterday for me to appreciate the beauty of winter and capture some views of my bundled babies.

But…now it is warm enough that we are out of “survival mode” and it’s time to get back to the work of moving calves out of hutches, vaccinating, and cleaning out some barns that need cleaning.

I worry about fitting it all in. There is alway another thing to be done. Still, as I plot out the days work on the farm I admit Christmas is in full swing in my brain.

How about you?

Are your stockings hung by the chimney with care yet?

My nativity is out and we have a tiny tree, but I’m hoping we can make time to go out to the pasture and cut a real one this year.

I have so many pretty ornaments with equally pretty memories that deserve to be hung on evergreen boughs.

I think the dogs would enjoy a tree too. We haven’t had a real one since it was just JR, Wellington, and I.

20131213-111256.jpg
Memories of Christmas past

Take care guys! Don’t let the busyness of the season stop you from appreciating its joy and magic.

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Agriculture ( in general), Baby Calf Care and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

