Marking Time

Sometimes hours, or even minutes, tick by so slowly. Even still, it’s always astounding to me how fast time passes as a whole.

Is it really winter again, ALREADY?

I suppose so. The calendar says December and yesterday everything got blanketed in white. This little one was uncertain about the suspicious white stuff, which he’s never seen before.

20131203-162345.jpg

Last month, we marked one year since the big white bulldog came home with us and into our family.

I so clearly remember loading up Calvin, a large dog crate, and a few snacks (for dogs and people!) on a chilly November morning last year.

After driving over 100 miles we certainly hoped she would be the girl for us. Luckily the dogs were amiable, and now we can’t imagine things without Boo.

Though I think Calvin sometimes fondly remembers the days of being an only dog…

20131203-162949.jpg

20131203-163011.jpgThe first day: Boo was a little wary, but Calvin taught her the ropes.

At Thanksgiving I saw my niece Madalyn, who turned one in October. I can’t believe how much she changes each time I see her. If you want to really notice passing time there’s nothing like a small child. Truly.

20131203-163231.jpg

Soon it will be Christmas, and all the planning, wrapping, and baking will somehow be done in time for the 25th.

Or so I hope. And in the midst of it I’ve made two goals. The first is to read some of God’s word and spend time in prayer every day. This is something I always mean to do, but I want to be especially intentional about opening my Bible (or even my handy Bible app) this Christmas season. God is love, and I don’t want to forget it for a second.

The other goal is my take on the popular “Thanksgiving to New Year” running streak. Instead of running every day from Thanksgiving to January 1st, I plan to run at least 28 times.

Why 28? Well, because I’m 28 years old and it seemed like a happy medium. I’ve never been big on running everyday. My body likes days off and I seriously don’t want to run if I’m so sick or exhausted that it will do more harm than good. However, I do want to do better about running through December and start building my mileage toward spring training. Lately I’ve been doing 3-4 runs per week, so I hope I can step things up to manage 28 runs in 35 days.

My treadmill, which I’ve also had almost a year, should be helpful in this undertaking.

Speaking of Christmas, I insisted we attempt a Christmas card photo this year. We still don’t have a picture of JR and I with both dogs, and now I know why. After much coaxing and treat-eating, we finally got a few usable shots. And some not so usable. ๐Ÿ™‚
Which is your favorite?

20131203-164647.jpg

20131203-164704.jpg

20131203-164715.jpg

20131203-164752.jpg
I think JR’s face says it all in that last one!

Happy December, lovely readers.

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Boo the bulldog, Calvin, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Marking Time

  1. Kathy says:

    I think the first one is good! It is hard to wrangle 2 dogs for pictures.

  2. J says:

    I love the family pictures at the end! Someday I want one with us and the dogs. But to date our last try looks much like yours. Either way, cute pictures!

    • Lisa says:

      Thanks. ๐Ÿ™‚ It took some serious time, and eventually Boo was starting to pick fights with Calvin & we called it quits. I was happy with our Christmas card though. I’ll have to post once it’s done.

Leave a Reply

