Nights that Freeze

3

2

1

And soon enough…

-1

-2

-3

It’s only November, but the thermometer doesn’t seem to realize. It doesn’t know we don’t like negative temperatures this early in the winter.

I suppose it’s technically still fall, but in the middle of Minnesota November often brings the transition from red and gold foliage to drifts of snow.

We haven’t had much measurable snow yet, just a few powdery dustings, but we will probably have our first negative temperature readings of the season tonight.

20131123-211643.jpg

On Saturdays I usually have the late calf shift, which means doing the final checks of the evening.

It also means tossing out all the water in pails for the hutch calves. It’s already frozen on top on nights like this, and your wrist gets quite a workout after cracking open so many pails to empty.

It’s one of the nights that freeze gloves solid by the end. The outsides of the fingers become coated in ice, forming a hard, protective shell that actually keeps your fingers from getting wet. At least until you put your gloves by a heater to melt off, and they become soaked through.

20131123-212858.jpg
I know people from warmer climates hear about our weather and wonder why we possibly choose to live here.

Sometimes I wonder myself, especially when the wind howls on a freezing or blizzard-ing night.

But then I think about how nice a warm fire and hot cup of tea are after being out in the cold. These things aren’t nearly so pleasant on a summer evening.

The warmth of mittens and hot chocolate would lose their purpose if they didn’t have cold weather to help combat.

And I know I wouldn’t appreciate the fresh blooms of spring as much if I didn’t have the January snowstorms.

20131123-213452.jpg

So we carry on, through the nights that freeze and the days that snow.

I try not to think about the stinging cold. I make lists in my head, plan what I’ll make for supper, and I dream of warmer days.

20131125-074951.jpg

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Agriculture ( in general), Baby Calf Care and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Nights that Freeze

  1. Terzah says:

    I think it’s much nicer to live in a place where each season flows into the next and makes you appreciate them all equally. Probably helps that I love cold weather! I hope you have a relatively peaceful winter.

  2. Yep, wondering those same things as we plan to move back. But there’s just something about it…

  3. “And I know I wouldn’t appreciate the fresh blooms of spring as much if I didn’t have the January snowstorms.”

    So true!

Leave a Reply

