Fall Finds

November is here, and the chill air today has me acknowledging winter is close by.

Snow, snow, and more snow is all the weatherman can talk about, but so far today is just a dull, dry, gray.

On Saturday for a few hours though, we were able to forget the cold. Indian summer sun shone bright, and I soaked up every drop.

As I ran down our country roads, as I walked through the rows of calves, and as I herded the chickens out into the autumn warmth.

I am told the dogs will get even with me for their Halloween attire, though I don’t even consider this bit of festivity a costume…

20131105-180031.jpg

20131105-180050.jpg

It’s hard to rectify afternoons full of summer with 6 inches of snow, but weather this time of year changes in a minute.

And perhaps we’ll escape with just a few inches tonight.

No matter what the weather, when I’m done with work tonight I hope to sit down in front of the fire with some hot tea and my thoughts.

And perhaps two lazy dogs curled in front of the fire.

I’ll give thanks to God for all the good and lay a lot of worries at his feet too. I plan to leave them there, instead of dragging them back into my brain for tomorrow.

I invite you to join me. Maybe you don’t have a fire or a cuddly dog, but I’ll bet you have a favorite easy chair or a handmade quilt.

If you hate tea, then pour yourself a mug of steaming cider or have a glass of wine.

Breathe in and out. Know that life’s challenges are outweighed by the blessings. Know that people love and value you.

Know that God loves you. It’s really that simple. Don’t think about the bad OR good you’ve done. Don’t think about your shortcomings. None of these things matter more than the simple truth that God is love. And I hope you rest well in that assurance.

Selah.

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Boo the bulldog, Calvin and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fall Finds

  1. Kathy says:

    Love that first picture! And good reminder that life’s blessings outweigh the challenges.

  2. Suzanne says:

    Very well said. You’re a wise woman!

Leave a Reply

