A Baby Tiger

Every farmer has a few favorite cows. It’s just a fact.

We like and care for them all, even the difficult ones, but there are always a few that become extra special.

One of my favorites is Tiger, and all October I’ve been not-so-patiently waiting for her to calve.

Her due date was October 25th, but by the middle of the month I could tell she would probably be early. She just had that “look” about her. Tuesday morning I was checking on the maternity cows, and I figured she would have a baby tiger before the day’s end.

20131025-133543.jpgShe’s getting ready.

About 2 pm Tuesday several of us helped her deliver a large, orange bull calf. I was disappointed it wasn’t a girl, but Tiger does already have two older daughters to help carry on the family line.

This was her fourth baby, and I’m pretty certain her largest. I would estimate him at easily over 100 lbs.

20131025-133814.jpg

Even though Tiger is a small cow she’s doing well. I guess she’s an old pro at this baby thing by now. ๐Ÿ˜‰

All of her other calves have been sired (fathered) by a Holstein bull, and they’ve come out mostly black. {She herself is 1/2 Swedish Red, 1/4 Brown Swiss, 1/4 Holstein.}

This time she was bred to a Brown Swiss, and I’ve never seen such a fluffy caramel-colored calf. I suppose the unique coloring was why I especially hoped for a girl. Once he dried off here’s what he looks like:

20131025-134218.jpg

It’s getting chilly enough here that coat season has arrived. All week it’s been no warmer than mid-twenties in the morning. I think he’s happy in his jacket.

Now the only mystery is whether his coat will eventually develop stripes like his mother’s. What do you think??

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Baby Calf Care, Cows and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Baby Tiger

  1. Jena says:

    I love him! He’s so cute!

  2. Both Tiger and her baby are beautiful!!

  3. Rebecca says:

    What a cute baby!

  4. Kathy says:

    He looks so cuddly!

  5. Heidi Nicole says:

    Cutest and funniest colored calf ever!

  6. Suzanne says:

    He’s a cute little guy!

Leave a Reply

