An Egg Each Day

Our egg cartons have been getting more colorful lately.

20131017-192258.jpg

We’ve been getting eggs from our little flock for about a month, and they are steadily getting larger and more numerous.

When hens first start laying their eggs are quite small, but they get larger as the hens mature. Egg shell colors vary based on the breed of the hen. If you look at the color of the earlobe of the chicken that will tell you what color her eggs will be.

For the record, all eggs have the same nutrient profile. Brown or tan eggs are no healthier than white eggs, and I really do think my normal store-bought eggs taste the same as the ones we find in our chicken barn.

Some eggs in the store are labeled as enriched with omega 3’s, and this is a real difference where those hens are fed more omega 3’s in their diet.

Other than that, an egg is pretty much an egg! No matter how it’s raised.

We’ve also figured out that we have a lot more roosters than hens. It’s okay though, because we’re already getting more eggs than we can easily use.

In addition to using them in cooking and baking, we both really should eat an egg each day to keep up.

Here’s a look at the growing birds:

20131018-142942.jpg

20131018-142950.jpg

We have also started the fall butchering process.

Neither of us wants to have 50 chickens in the barn come cold weather, so this is a necessity. Plus the meat is good!

So far we’ve roasted two chickens and frozen three. Most of the credit belongs to my husband, and it’s definitely been a learning experience.

I will say that nothing has made me appreciate the work behind a meal quite like these chickens. We’ve raised and cared for them all summer, gotten to “know” them, and then there is the work of catching the live chicken, butchering, plucking, and cleaning it, then doing the cooking.

The finished product hasn’t been quite as tender as we hoped, but I am still impressed with our efforts.

Butter, lemon, cracked pepper, and rosemary — these are my secret ingredients for roast chicken. Maybe next time I’ll even remember to take a picture.

The ducks, geese, and turkeys are also still here and busy growing. I’m hoping we might look into bringing the turkeys to a professional butcher shop. Then we can sell them in time for Thanksgiving.

The ducks and geese, well, I’m not sure quite what to do with them. For the time being they are quite happy to quack around our yard and make a mess.

20131018-153259.jpg

Fall also means the weather is getting perfect for running, but I haven’t been as much as I’d like. It’s marathon season, and I find myself only putting in several miles every few days instead of going out for a couple hours and enjoying the autumn beauty.

Speaking of, congratulations to all of you who have raced well this fall. I’ve enjoyed reading several triumphant recaps.

I don’t even know that I’ll race this fall, as the races I originally thought about doing have already passed. Maybe a 5K or a turkey trot, but that will be it.

It’s okay though; I’ve got my eye on several goal races for the spring. Summer and fall are just busy farm seasons, and I’m fine with knowing the winter and early spring should hold more time for me to run down some miles.

It’s a good things I’ll be powered by extra protein from all our poultry & eggs. 🙂 (Not to mention dairy..)

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Agriculture ( in general), Poultry Project and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to An Egg Each Day

  1. Travis’ boss has chickens so we’ve gotten eggs from him a couple times. I agree that they taste the same as storebought but the yolks are a richer yellow. Any idea why that is? I wasn’t brave enough to eat them while I was pregnant though.

  2. Terzah says:

    That bit about chicken earlobes was interesting! :^) I love eggs and could eat one a day easily….but we don’t have chickens.

  3. Pingback: Choosing Foods as a Mom! | Cow Spots and Tales

Leave a Reply

