Muddy Paths

It’s a funny thing.

6 weeks ago our county was categorized in borderline severe drought.

Once we started harvesting our corn silage we were sidelined several time by rain, and we even got several semi trucks stuck in the field.

The first week of October has also brought steady rain, and all the side paths around the farm look more like mud puddles.

20131007-204920.jpg

Don’t worry; our driveway is high and dry, as are the main roads around our barns. It’s just the paths to my calf hutches that require creative navigation…

Speaking of muddy paths, I don’t quite know how this little gal arrived in the barn looking so clean.

20131007-205155.jpg

I was doing a last check of the maternity pens tonight, and there she was standing right in the feed alley. She knew just where to find the watchful mama cows.

For a second I thought she was a brand new baby, but she was all fluffy and dry plus sure-footed on her legs.

Then I recognized her as one born a few days ago. (I’m a bit behind on ear tagging lately.)

Through the open door on the right of the photo you can see the row of small white hutches from which she came. The hutches themselves are dry, but there are some big muddy patches to cross en route to the barn.

Apparently she avoided them.

She’s small enough that I just hoisted her up and let her ride on my lap as I drove the gator (ATV) to her home. I wasn’t sure she’d sit at all, but she surprised me by curling up almost like a puppy.

Her hutch was still latched on all sides, so she’s quite the escape artist. She must have crawled through the front holes to her feed pails.

I can already tell she’s going to have personality.

Aside from that, come rain or shine, I’m sure happy these fields are empty.

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Agriculture ( in general), Baby Calf Care and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Muddy Paths

  1. Suzanne says:

    You’ll have to keep us updated on her. She does sound like she’s going to be quite the character!

Leave a Reply

