Sweet Summertime

The sweet things of summer are too many to count. But if I were to pick a representative few, I might mention juicy, fresh berries, ice cream, cold lemonade, home-grown tomatoes and melons, blooming lilacs, and the scent of fresh cut alfalfa hay or a summer pasture. (Speaking of alfalfa hay, guess what we were busy doing during this 90 degree week?)

And for those of you who know what Leinenkugel’s is, well, let me just say Honey Weiss and Summer Shandy.

20130717-170205.jpg
Last year’s watermelon

But sweet isn’t always about tastes and smells. Sometimes it’s about events and memories.

Delicate roses, frosting and cake, a church organ, and lots of family and friends often come together in summer celebrations of marriage. Even though I got married in February, I can still admit that summer is the season of weddings.

On July 13th this lovely couple said “I do.”

20130717-171051.jpg

20130717-171122.jpg
I’m beyond happy and excited for my sister and new brother-in-law. They make a great pair. It’s that simple.

Congratulations Julie and Dan!

And now I’m a tad jealous as they get to spend the next two weeks exploring the mountains of Colorado and some of our most beautiful national parks. 🙂

At the wedding, as usual, I wanted to get a nice photo of JR and I all dressed up.

But, as usual, we didn’t get to it until the end of the night when lighting was poor and my hair was frazzled.

20130717-171716.jpg

I’m just hoping we looked a little more put together for the family photos…

After the wedding it was a crazy few days as we caught back up on things at the farm, got equipment ready, and chopped hay.

About midnight last night we finished covering the hay pile, and today the combo of heat, humidity, and little sleep is really making my eyelids heavy.

Busy weekends are so fun, and yet they make for so much catch-up. It’s always well worth it, and now I’m already starting to think ahead to my little sister’s winter wedding. The last of us five sisters to be married. The best for last, right?

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in This and That and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sweet Summertime

  1. Heidi Nicole says:

    Berryweiss is where its at! The Coors brewery out here has the Leinie’s logo on their wall and most everyone knows what it is. I like it when my states mesh!

    Looks like a beautiful day for a wedding. I love her wedding dress and the color of your dress!

    • Lisa says:

      I do like Berry Weiss if I’m in the mood for something sweet. Neat that Leinie’s is known around the country! I suppose I think of them as semi-local/regional, but I know they are actually a lot bigger than many of small breweries.

  2. you guys look awesome!

  3. Jena says:

    Congrats to your sister! I have 3 more sisters that aren’t married…..

  4. Suzanne says:

    Congratulations to your sister and her husband!

Leave a Reply

