Last week

Last week was a blur.

It’s the latest I can ever remember doing our first cutting of alfalfa hay, but at least now it’s finally safe under plastic and tires.

20130624-192350.jpg
Last Sunday we wanted to start cutting, but we got an afternoon soak of rain. We congratulated ourselves on waiting, and then we cut hay all day Monday.

Monday night — it rained. And it took until about 5 pm on Tuesday before it was dry enough to start chopping the cut hay. Perhaps you saw my exuberant post on twitter/Facebook when the first load finally rolled in?

20130624-171328.jpg
Chopper & truck on the move

We chopped Tuesday night and all day and evening Wednesday, but the hay was so thick and of such volume that we still weren’t done.

Thursday morning the forecast looked yucky, so we covered the pile we had to save it from rain.

After a few hours of cloudy skies, the sun came out and we were able to keep chopping and start a new pile.

I rode with JR some in his “office,” and I helped to keep all the drivers fed and hydrated in between doing my normal farm chores.

20130624-171736.jpg

On Thursday night we were finally finished, and we started covering the second pile about midnight. We could all see the lightning flashes to the west, and it was clear a storm was brewing.

About 1:30 the first drops of rain began to fall, just as we placed the last tires. Of course we were grateful, but I didn’t realize how much until we woke up to this on Friday morning.

20130624-184755.jpg

20130624-184809.jpg

Hutches were tossed around (luckily most were empty ones), but several muddy and scared little calves had to be collected. I think it was noon before we found the last missing baby hiding in the woods.

This tree was the only big one that fell, and we were able to get the driveway clear soon after I snapped the photo.

Friday night brought another downpour and heavy winds, right as we were feeding milk bottles. Between the two storms I think we had about 2.5 inches of rain. It was wet, but nothing too crazy.

Then Saturday night came. I knew rain was possible — it always seems to be lately — but Sunday morning we had something close to small ponds all over the yard. Water was everywhere, and our rain gauge was filled with over 4 inches.

Things are almost back to normal now, and at least our soils that were plagued by drought last year are getting recharged with moisture.

In the midst of this busy week, I couldn’t help but think about Grandma’s Marathon, which was run this Saturday.

Last month when I stubbornly got it in my head to run my second marathon this spring, I had debated between Minneapolis and Grandma’s.

I’d chosen Minneapolis because it was cheaper (mainly due to less travel and hotel cost) and because I was worried about my ability to make enough time to train throughout June.

I was slightly concerned we may be doing hay during the June 2nd Minneapolis race, but I guessed it would be later this year because of the late spring.

I never dreamed we’d just be finishing hay the day before Grandma’s!

After this week, I was fried. Mentally and physically exhausted. I didn’t run all weekend (or actually since Tuesday), and when I pulled on my running shoes this morning 3 miles felt like an intensive effort.

I ran 3 miles at about 9:45/mile pace in 75 degrees. Is it really possible I ran a 4:05 marathon just three weeks ago?

Something greater than luck led me to Minneapolis instead of Duluth this year.

Granted both races ended up with cool weather and have nice courses, but in my sleep-deprived state I was in zero shape to run a 5K this weekend — let alone a marathon.

Grandma’s will hopefully be in my future someday, but this year God nudged me to the best option.

It’s easy to think God might not care about the small details. Why would He care if I run a good marathon? Aren’t races kind of selfish and silly in the big picture?

But His word tells us He knows every hair on our head. He cares for each and every sparrow. I believe the point of these words from Matthew is to show us God does care about the small things. He wants to be involved in the details of our lives, and He designed us to find fulfillment and enjoyment in this world. If we do that through music or writing, He wants to bless us in those talents.

If we do it through running marathons, well, He cares about that too.

We always have the ability to chose, but The Lord is also always alongside us, helping us whenever we take time to pray and listen.

Wishing you all a wonderful week!

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Baby Calf Care, Crops, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Last week

  1. So true! When I’m tempted to think God doesn’t care about things like races and running, I remind myself that i bring Him glory when I pursue the things I’m passionate about – because He created me to be who I am.

    I’m glad your baby calves were all ok after that storm. That must’ve been scary for them!

  2. Suzanne says:

    Wonderful post Lisa! Thanks for reminding me that the Lord cares about things like my races.

Leave a Reply

