There is enough

I’m still keenly feeling the weight of my to-do list, but I was reminded of something important two posts ago.

Kathy commented that “…God gives me enough time each day to get done what needs to be done.”

Simple, right?

It doesn’t mean the doing is always simple, but this thought really resonated with my tired brain.

As I seek to shape my attitude in Christ’s image, I’m convinced it’s critical to remember that all time is God’s time.

We can waste it away or use it for good. Perhaps something in between. But it is enough.

He gives a generous portion — overflowing — if we just open our eyes to see His plans and purposes.

I’m a thinker. I don’t know about you, but if I’m doing something simple I find it nearly impossible to think only about the task at hand.

My husband claims that is why I am sometimes clumsy or accident prone; he wishes I would focus more. But thoughts still swirl through my brain.

Sometimes I worry. {schedule, finance, family woes, national & world problems}

Sometimes I strategize {what should I fix for supper tonight?}

Sometimes I daydream {maybe we can go to Europe in a few years, I love that feeling of crossing the finish line of a marathon…}

You probably get the idea. Maybe you are a thinker too?

Besides focusing on attitude this year, I am also working toward being intentional.

It doesn’t mean I can’t daydream, but I know I can work on refining my focus.

I am not great at it. I probably never will be.

I can and should still take a hard look at how I spend my time, energy, and money.

I’m trying to find an equilibrium for attitude and intentionality. It’s somewhere between not beating myself up and still recognizing my weaknesses and trying to do better.

There’s comfort for me in the fact that neither I nor anyone else is called to be perfect.

In my faith, it’s not only grand worship services and big “spiritual breakthroughs” that make me a Christian.

It’s really about the times I struggle to trust. It’s the dark patches when I’m angry and don’t want to surrender to Christ’s perfect will.

The poor handling of situations that leave me running to God for forgiveness are just as real in my faith journey as anticipated and beautiful moments like communion and baptism.

The runner in me also knows this reality.

Being a marathoner isn’t just about crossing the finish line in triumph.

It’s about those early mornings when every muscle aches, but you still get out of bed and run 6 miles.

It’s about those dark winter Friday nights when you stay home to crank out 10 miles on the treadmill because you can’t do them on Saturday that week.

It’s even about the run you missed because your hamstring was throbbing, and you just knew you had to take an extra day’s break.

Balancing act.

This is life.

The best part is that no matter how tilted the beam might seem, God does give enough.

In this life, some do have much more than others. Equity isn’t promised. Easy is not promised.

God’s Love IS promised.

We are called to fix our eyes not on what is seen, but what is unseen. For what is seen is temporary, but what is unseen is eternal. { 2 Corinthians 4:18}

I like eternal.

20130618-113244.jpg

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Attitude - One Word 2013, Christian Reflections, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to There is enough

  1. Glad my comment was encouraging! So often I wish life wasn’t a balancing act because it’s not easy to keep that balance but it’s definitely worth it.

Leave a Reply

