Family, Chickens, and a Piano

Memorial Day weekend often feels like the official start to summer, but this year it was overcast and cool.

It worked out fine for our plans because the rain held off and we were finally able to mow our overgrown acres and move some more birds out to their new home in the barn.

But before I chatter on further about yard work and weekend activities, I want to acknowledge the true meaning of this special day. Thank you to all those who have sacrificed so much to serve our country. Whether you are in the military yourself or have a loved one who is, know you are valued and appreciated.

And as many of us put flowers on the graves of loved ones, veteran or not, I hope good memories can overpower the sadness.

I think it helps that Memorial Day is often a time of togetherness, when families gather to eat, play, and connect.

From our farm to you, Happy Memorial Day.

20130527-205206.jpg

I didn’t think I would get to see my side of the family this year, but today about 11:00 I got a call from my dad.

He wondered if it would work to bring me a few things that have been waiting patiently until I had a house big enough.

Two of my sisters and their fiancΓ©es were also getting ready to drive back to their homes in the Twin Cities, and it happens that I live between my parents and the city. They would all stop by and help carry as well.

I told my dad for sure, and I hurried to finish morning tasks at the farm and get home to tidy my *ahem* clean house and ready some snacks.

When the 3-car entourage arrived things were in order, and two prancing dogs eagerly greeted their visitors.

Boo is really more of a couch potato though. She found the best seat in the house as JR talked to my dad.

20130527-222218.jpg
Of course we looked in on the poultry too, and the chickens were busy strutting around in their new pen.

As we moved them Saturday I snapped a few photos with this being my favorite.

20130527-221748.jpg
We can tell by his hairdo that he’s a Polish.

If you’re wondering what the big ticket item they brought was…

20130527-222414.jpg
Tah dah!

Believe it or not, my parents have acquired three pianos over the years. There’s the massive, old upright we all learned to play on, and then this little spinet that came from my grandma. They also have one other old upright that was left to them in a round about way by an elderly neighbor.

Neither my mom nor dad really play, so they’ve been talking about giving us girls the pianos practically since we left for college.

This was the lightest of the three, and I’m the first daughter to live close enough and have room to take one.

While it needs tuning and a few keys stick, it felt simply amazing to run my fingers through a few familiar tunes.

I feel blessed indeed to have gotten both a treadmill and piano moved in this year. Plus I’m lucky that the dogs are soothed instead of agitated by the whir of the treadmill and now the music of my black and white keys.

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Poultry Project, This and That and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Family, Chickens, and a Piano

  1. Heidi Nicole says:

    I think my Feedly is missing posts from you or something because I didn’t see this one in there at all – only saw this post because I was scrolling through the site. Weird.

    We had a piano growing up and its currently living at my mom’s house. Everyone in our family always had a piano in the house. I used to be able to kind of play and was actually able to teach Chris half a song a few years ago. I miss having one. I flat out told my Grandma I wanted hers if they ever moved out of the big farm house. I don’t care if I have to pay to ship it to CO – I want a piano and I want it to be one that I played on as a kid! There is something special about them!

    • Lisa says:

      There is something nice about a family piano. πŸ™‚ Wish I could answer why my posts aren’t showing for you, but I’m pretty illiterate in that dept. I’m guessing it is not related to my blog settings anyway, right?

Leave a Reply

