The Big Bird Move

The “baby” birds are getting bigger. You might even say they are growing and eating us right out of house and home. (Or literally, garage.)

For the past few days JR has even found a few errant turkeys squawking around the garage when we’re feeding them, meaning they can flap out of their sawdust-filled tubs.

They really are getting pretty crowded, so the time has come to move them outdoors. They’ll have the shelter of the barn and access to a fenced area to wander in once we get that ready.

Because of all the rain today we just moved the ducks and geese. We let them wander outside first during a break in the rain; I think they were trying to hide among the plants!

20130519-211604.jpg

Inside the barn:

20130519-211743.jpg

The chicks are less messy and don’t get as wet, but they will also go to the barn in the next few days. We spent some time just observing them this afternoon. I cannot believe how fast they grow. While the waterfowl are finally starting to lose their fuzzy down, the chicks already have full-blown feathers!

20130519-211936.jpg

20130519-211944.jpg

They are pretty tame too.

20130519-212032.jpg

I can’t really think of any other exciting bird details, but I’m sure I’m leaving something out. If you’ve got a question just ask away.

I also took a few attempts at a new blog photo during my afternoon at the dairy. My pictures never turn out quite as I imagine, but they are still fun to share.

20130519-212254.jpg

20130519-212825.jpg

What do you think? Are either of these worthy of the blog homepage?

Hope you all had a good {insert relaxing, productive, fun, etc} spring weekend!

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Poultry Project and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Big Bird Move

  1. I like the second pic! Those birds are so cute.

  2. You are too cute!

    One of my sisters got her girls baby ducks for Easter (totally cliche, but whatever). They are so big now – and they swim in the lake with my nieces, it’s the cutest thing ever.. I’m only slightly worried that an alligator will come after them =/

    • Lisa says:

      Eeck; at least alligators are one creature I don’t have to worry about. 😉 I’ll bet the girls do have fun with the ducks.

  3. Heidi Nicole says:

    Birds are so odd looking – they start out adorable, then get rather ugly as they grow real feathers than are beautiful with all their colors later in life! Have fun watching them explore!

Leave a Reply

