Getting Ready for the Heat

Last night we got the last of our corn planted, and early this morning we seeded our last small field of alfalfa hay.

Now it’s sprinkling slightly and more rain is forecast the next few days. Talk about perfect timing!

After a cold start to spring we’ve had some very warm and dry spring days that allowed us to get planting done. Many parts of the state set a record with temperatures in the 90’s and even the 100’s in southern Minnesota on the 14th. (Today it’s back to a comfortable 60.)

As the weather heats up I’ve been worrying a little bit about the wisdom of running a June marathon. Early June could be cool and rainy, or it could be high humidity with temperatures in the 80’s or 90’s.

I don’t want to needlessly worry, but I do think it’s important to prepare myself for a possible heat wave. Some of the things I need to do are keep myself well hydrated leading up to (and during) the race and do runs in the heat.

I normally run early morning, but I plan to try for several mid-day runs on warm days.

I also realized the obvious yesterday — I work outside, often walking, carrying, and lifting. My day-to-day job should help me acclimate as long as we have enough warm days.

Yesterday was definitely good training, and it was at least mid-70’s with bright sunshine. We spent most of the afternoon picking rocks. If you’re not familiar, picking rocks involves driving around fields before they are planted and picking out any rocks larger than about softball size.

We don’t want rocks to interfere with the growing plants or to get stuck in or break machinery like the planter or combine.

Sometimes I drive around the field, but yesterday I was on walking duty.

20130517-111930.jpg

This picture from early evening shows the rock wagon on the right and a skid loader for scooping up big rocks on the left.

Even though we’re done planting, there are still rocks to be picked and we can work in the alfalfa fields without disturbing the plants too much.

It’s not my favorite chore, but I should be grateful for the “heat training” it provides!

My other secret weapon for running in the heat?

My new top!

20130517-115020.jpg

20130517-115030.jpg

Team Dairy graciously sent me this sleeveless version of the team shirt. It’s still got Bessie on the back, and I don’t think I’ve ever shown the back before. Now I should be ready no matter what the weather brings. ๐Ÿ™‚

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Crops, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Getting Ready for the Heat

  1. Heidi Nicole says:

    Oooh, rock picking. So fun! ๐Ÿ˜‰
    Love the new tank, its really cute. I’m not a pink person but those colors seem to go really well together!

Leave a Reply

