The “Just Do It” Marathon

Some people are better at planning things out and meticulously scheduling. I try to be intentional about certain household tasks, farm responsibilities, and my relationships, but still I often find myself juggling things around or re-planning spur of the moment.

I suppose that’s partly the nature of farming and partly my personality.

When it comes to my running plans, I’m often flexible too. I enjoy doing races, but specific times of year are hard to commit to races 100%. Also, if I have something “big” on the horizon for too long it can stress me out and defeat the whole purpose of running for enjoyment and mental clarity.

With that said, I’ve decided it’s time for something big.

After my two races this spring, I realized several things.

First, that I’m in better half marathon shape than ever before in my life. I really enjoy racing longer distances, and I don’t want to *lose my fitness* over the summer without giving myself another racing opportunity.

(* I hope I don’t go backward too much this summer, but the hot temperatures combined with a busy calving time at the farm, at least 3 crops of hay, and several weddings and family commitments I know something will have to give.)

Second, while I’m not in top 5K shape, I still have some speed in my legs. With a little work, this speed and endurance should translate into a PR. I hope.

Ready or not, I’m signed up for the Minneapolis Marathon on June 2nd.

Don’t worry, I’m not going in to this completely on a whim. I had a great 17 mile run last weekend, and this week I topped 40 miles including 20 miles earlier today.

While the 20 was seriously difficult, I had the pleasure of running the first 11 with my friend Megan. We got a little carried away with the pace, averaging under 9:00/miles, so my last solo 9 miles turned into a survival march. It’s my own fault, but still I finished.

Those grueling miles after starting out too fast were also a good lesson for the marathon!

My main goal is to beat my 4:29 from the Fargo Marathon 2 years ago, which is more than doable on paper based on my current training paces.

Still, the marathon is fickle and unpredictable. If the weather is deathly hot or I have unforeseen trouble in the race I can adjust my goals as necessary.

As I told my husband, I have this building need to get marathon number 2 in the books. I need to “just do it!”
If I wait too long 26.2 miles could easily go back to seeming like an impossible dream.

A lot of spring marathons happen in Minnesota, and after some discussion we decided this one was a good fit and shouldn’t even disrupt our lives too much. 🙂

Weirdly enough I should now be entering taper mode, though I think I’ll try to do at least one big workout this week due to my non-traditional build up.

I feel ready to run the miles, it will just be a question of how fast I can cover them.

In spite of my decision to run this marathon, I’ve had a lot of other things on my brain more lately. Planting season at the farm and our ever-growing birds probably top that last.

20130511-142004.jpg

Above is a shot of the planter getting ready to head to the field.

We took just the ducks and geese outside the other evening for the first time. I was surprised at how close they stayed; moving along in a little herd. They will all move out to the barn soon, but for now they are still in residence in our garage.

20130511-142210.jpg

20130511-142217.jpg

As always, thanks for reading along. If you’ve got any tips for me (on training, bird raising, organizing, or anything really) I welcome them.

And… A very Happy Mother’s Day to all you moms reading along. Hope your kids are making your day special. Make sure you give your own Mom a call, visit, hug, or all three. 🙂

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Poultry Project, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The “Just Do It” Marathon

  1. Wow, that’s great that you’re going for another full! Good luck!

  2. Terzah says:

    I think it actually sounds like a very thoughtful decision. Good for you to take advantage of your fitness! I can’t wait to hear all about it.

    • Lisa says:

      I hope it turns out to be smart… Now I’m just left to worry about how hot early June will be. The race does start at 6:30 (scary early!) so I should beat mid-day heat.

  3. Brit says:

    Good luck! I’m sure you’ll do great!

  4. Rebecca says:

    Awesome, I bet you’ll do great!

  5. Suzanne says:

    How exciting! Good luck with Marathon #2!

Leave a Reply

