Like a Duck

Saturday morning I felt rather like a duck. There I was, waddling along out in the rain with wet, yellow feet, etc, etc.

Let me explain.

Exhibit A:

20130505-154946.jpg

Exhibit B:

20130505-155029.jpg

The shoes are new. 🙂 My current pair was finally starting to feel its age, and I knew my body would start feeling it too if I didn’t get new shoes soon.

The nice thing about these Wave Rider 15’s is they’re an old model, which means they are usually on “liquidation” or “special clearance.” It also means the selection is more limited. My size was available in yellow, and I like it more than I thought. Yellow is one of my favorite colors; I’d just never seen it featured so prominently on running shoes!

The second exhibit is just a view of the wet road in a tiny town near our house. I elected to turn left instead of running up that giant hill in the background.

Saturday morning I let Boo the bulldog out first thing, and I was greeted by wind and rain as I peered into the darkness.

It seemed miserable out, so I pulled on my new yellow shoes and started my run on the treadmill. After an hour the monotony was wearing on me. It had gotten light enough for me to see the rain was only a mere drizzle.

Once I hit 60 minutes I stopped the whirring machine, quickly put on some weatherproof layers, took a gel, and took my run outside.

It was there on the roads, as I splashed through puddles when the rain got harder, that I felt like a duck in my yellow shoes.

Speaking of ducks…

Ours are busy growing and learning about the business of being birds.

We’ve got the ducks and geese in one tub and the chickens and turkeys in the other. Even though it’s only been 5 days, I can already visibly see them growing.

20130506-091813.jpg

20130506-091827.jpg

20130506-091942.jpg

It was a little challenging to fit bird care in along with our normal work and routine, but now that we’re getting used to them it’s pretty smooth.

Don’t worry, we’re still taking good care of these girls!

20130506-092904.jpg

Wishing you all a great start to your week.

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Poultry Project, Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Like a Duck

  1. Suzanne says:

    Love the new Mizunos! Wave Riders are my favorite.

  2. Terzah says:

    I like the yellow color too! And I like rain, though maybe not quite that cold. The ducks are so cute….

  3. Heidi Nicole says:

    I have those shoes! I really like them….of course, I’m a sucker for bright colors! And it is kind of fun to run around in the rain – when you’re not catching pneumonia! 😉

  4. Those ducks are so cute! And the yellow shoes are fun – I’m sure you look speedy.

Leave a Reply

