Winter to Summer

There is no denying it’s been a late spring here in Minnesota. I was just reading in the newspaper that our local school sports teams have yet to play a game or have a meet.

We are on track to have one of the latest dates for ice off the lake in recorded history (I think there’s still over 12 inches of ice out there), and we’ve had about 3 feet of snow just in April.

We ran out of wood earlier than expected, but who would have thought we’d still be cutting wood in the snow in April?

I think this small sled should be our last batch.

20130425-112807.jpg

20130425-112952.jpg

With that said, a warm up is coming. Highs for today are in the 50’s, and the forecast says 70’s by this weekend.

Apparently we are skipping spring and heading straight to summer?

We are still waiting for our chicks and ducklings, who were supposed to ship out yesterday. We got a call this morning changing our ship date to Monday, which is honestly for the best.

Of course we’ll still start them inside under heat lamps — probably in our garage — but I’m glad our weather will be warmer when they come.

We’ve had an interesting few weeks with our baby calves in this weather too.

With the combination of thawing, re-freezing, and snow all ground is quite the muddy mess. Many of our hutches are on a paved surface for spring, but the oldest calves were still in the field.

We brought the big truck & good trailer to move most of them out this week. The mud proved a little much, and we ultimately had to get our pay loader to pull out the truck.

20130425-113539.jpg

All turned out well, and the calves are settled and happy in their new pens.

In running news, I’m signed up for a 5K on Saturday. It’s a local race featuring the opening of the “Dairyland Trail.” A fellow Team Dairy runner and dairy farm mom is helping organize the run, so I’m excited to connect with her at the race.

My legs feel pretty good after the half, so I’m thinking and hoping I can run well.

Stay tuned for updates on the baby poultry and the race!

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Baby Calf Care, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Winter to Summer

  1. My husband has been hearing about all the snow you farmers in the north are having. Incredible! Hope things warm up for you soon. We’re sure enjoying spring down here in VA!

  2. I am very thankful to not be up north in all of that snow! It has been a bit of a late Spring in PA as well, but the weather is warming up pretty nicely now! I do not mind the “bad” weather right now, since I am unable to get outside and run. It makes my injury less painful :)!

  3. Heidi Nicole says:

    Gotta love the mud of spring – looks like the weather took a turn for the better this weekend, which I’m selfishly very happy about!

Leave a Reply

