Pray for Boston

Yesterday, as I was thinking about what to write for my “attitude reflection” this month, I’d just come inside for a quick afternoon snack.

The TV was on, and I saw images of the Boston Marathon finish line flash on the screen.

I’d eagerly followed twitter for news of the race and winners during the morning, and for a split second I was thrilled that the national media was putting a spotlight on this great event.

Then I realized. It was not a positive story heralding runners and community. It was devastating. The finish area was smoking, people were injured, and panic was evident.

I know I wasn’t personally a witness to this tragedy, and I don’t write this post as an attempt to chronicle the “latest news.”

Rather, as a running fan, a runner myself, and mostly as a human being, I am just numb with sadness.

I can’t fathom why. Why?

The heartbreak of loosing a life. The devastation of loosing a limb — as they say many have. The fear of not being able to find or contact a loved one. The exhaustion and elation of running nearly 26.2 miles followed by sheer panic at seeing smoke and explosions at the finish.

I can not imagine.

In the midst of everything, the outpouring of support, prayers, and generosity I’ve seen in the news and social media media since the tragedy give me hope.

The strength of the running community, the Boston area, America, and the good that lives within people everywhere can overcome and help heal the evil that happens in this world.

Today is not a time for a “happy” attitude or for rejoicing. It is a time of sadness.

But that doesn’t mean I can’t focus on the brave and selfless things people are doing in the midst of tragedy.

I’m turning this verse over and over in my mind today:

God is our refuge and strength, an ever-present help in times of trouble. Therefore, we will not fear, though the earth gives way and the mountains fall into the heart of the sea.

Psalm 46:1-2

I’m trying to focus on the grace of God and of the power of His love and work shining through people. I’m giving thanks for the medical teams, race officials, law enforcement, and many bystanders doing their part to care for people during this unthinkable time.

Pray for Boston.

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Attitude - One Word 2013, Christian Reflections, Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Pray for Boston

  1. Suzanne says:

    Thanks for sharing that verse. I really needed to hear that today.

  2. Anna says:

    Oh Lisa, that was not the marathon coverage any of us were hoping for. So terribly tragic. Thank you for sharing your thoughts and feelings. I am not one for prayer, but today’s run will be dedicated to the victims of this atrocity. So sad.

    • Lisa says:

      Thank you too, Anna. I’ll be thinking of all in London this weekend. I hope it is a wonderful race; the running community is strong and will keep on. Will you be spectating or running??

Leave a Reply

