The land of snow, rain, wind, and mud

Greetings from the land of snow, rain, wind, and mud.

20130414-150448.jpg

Normally I wouldn’t be this bundled up for 30 degrees, but the wind is whipping along at 20-30 mph making things quite chilly.

And even though it may look frozen, semi-thawed mud is lurking underneath the snow and ice and makes a slippery mess as you drive through.

Currently — on Sunday afternoon — the precipitation is switching from snow to freezing rain and making a nice icy crust over the snow and everything else.

20130414-155652.jpg

There you have it; the land of snow, rain, wind, and mud.

20130414-151051.jpg

I can’t help but think back to last year at this time, when much of the country was under a heat wave. I remember this because tomorrow is the Boston Marathon, and at last year's Boston I think temps reached 90*. It was so hot that the marathon actually let people defer their registration to this year's race if they wanted because of heat concerns.

Speaking of which, best of luck to any of you running Boston tomorrow. Maybe someday (or in my dreams) I will make it there too. ๐Ÿ™‚

Mid-April last year there were already tractors in the fields doing spring planting too. It will be well into May this year before we get crops in the ground.

Strange how this weather thing works. Last year was one of the mildest winters in memory. This year our snowfall is well above average, I just read that March Minnesota temps were 5 – 10* below average, and here we sit on April 14th in a near blizzard with 18* windchill.

The bright side, of course, is that our ground is dry and we really need all the moisture we can get. Sometimes things just get miserable even if you're en route to a desired outcome.

Which reminds me, I have a few quality runs I'd like to get in this week so I've got confidence in an awesome race on Saturday. Not that the runs will be miserable per se, but a hard run is a hard run. Don't worry though, I won't push it too much before race day.

I don't mean to bore you all again with chatter about the weather, but for me it's rather all-consuming right now.

I hope you are all enjoying the rest of your weekend (under more pleasant skies). ๐Ÿ˜‰

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Agriculture ( in general), Baby Calf Care, This and That and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The land of snow, rain, wind, and mud

  1. Suzanne says:

    Wish you guys were getting the needed moisture in the form of rain and not so much snow and ice. It feels like it’s been winter forever!

  2. Olivia Stocum says:

    I have awarded you with the Versatile Blogger Award! Please check out my post to receive the award http://theclaymoreandsurcoat.com/2013/04/15/versatile-blogger-award/This is a NO pressure nomination. You donโ€™t have to do anything if you donโ€™t want to. I just wanted you to know that I am pleased to have you as part of my blogging world!

  3. Heidi Nicole says:

    The weather has been really weird here too, but isn’t it always? We didn’t get much snow at all through the actual “winter” but now that its April we’ve had snow every week – woke up to more this morning! Still not nearly as much as you – or maybe it just melts so quickly between snows because it hits 50+ – but still now. Although I’ll take it, we desperately need the moisture!

Leave a Reply

