April snow storms bring?

We get a lot of snow in Minnesota. But generally, it comes during the months of November through March. April blizzards are possible, but I prefer not to think about them.

In fact, I had almost decided to quit putting on calf jackets for the season. But, you never know about April, so I thought I would give it another week or so.

This little girl, born on the 3rd and welcomed by sunny skies, was glad she was still bundled up as she cautiously stepped out into her first snow.

20130411-180408.jpg

20130411-180419.jpg

This will all melt soon, I know, but at dawn this morning it was sure feeling a lot more like January than April.

20130411-180610.jpg

Just how bad was it?

For one, all the area schools were closed. And, when I went down to check the mailbox at the farm again at 6:00, I saw this.

20130411-193537.jpg

Yes, that muddy, snowy path is really our road. I’ve never known the mail not to make it through, so I guess we’ll see. All I can say is I hope the IRS is understanding if my tax payment doesn’t arrive on time!

Aside from not taking the calf coats away, here’s a few other things I’m glad I didn’t do yet.

– Pack away my winter coveralls. While the temperature this morning wasn’t bad, the heavy, wet snow was drenching. At least the thick canvas kept my legs from getting soaked.

– Get baby ducks. Before you ask — they are on their way. Lots of them. My husband wanted a deal and there wasn’t a lot available locally, so he ordered some variety specials. (Eep!) I think there may be chickens, turkeys, or other poultry in this “mix” too. They aren’t due to arrive at the post office until late April, so I hope at least all snowstorms are past by then.

– Put away my running tights. At this rate I’ll need tights plus hat, gloves, and ice spikes for my half marathon next weekend. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Or, the weather may warm up enough to melt the snow within days, and I’ll need to dig out some shorts to race in.

Only one thing is certain about April weather, and that’s the uncertainty.

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Baby Calf Care, This and That and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to April snow storms bring?

  1. Terzah says:

    It often snows in Colorado in April. I’m always glad when it does–it means we are staving off wild fires a little longer! Last summer was *terrible.* But I hope things melt fast for you guys. I know how good it feels to put the tights away for a long time! (The new calf is very sweet!)

    • Lisa says:

      I hope you get lots of moisture this spring then, and I hope it’s a better summer. I do remember hearing about all the Colorado fires last summer.

  2. Suzanne says:

    Good luck with your half marathon next weekend! Hope you have some spring weather by then.

Leave a Reply

