Garden experiments & the moment of truth workout

Every year since we’ve been married, we’ve approached our garden endeavor differently.

(Being raised “good country kids,” it would be positively sacrilege to both of us not plant at least something.)

The first years we just had tomatoes, from which we harvested a few to enjoy ourselves, but nothing more. Oh — and some scraggly petunias, begonias, and other assorted flowers in pots that I probably didn’t water enough.

The summer of 2011 was the year of the weed control mishap. We’d started our tomatoes in pots, and it was warm enough for them to stay out all the time. While spraying weeds in the lawn one day, we think it wafted over to our tomatoes and stunted them. They didn’t die, exactly, but it took them all summer to recover. They didn’t bear any fruit at all, but at least I had my flowers.

I think this was also the summer when we bought several packs of started seedlings to transplant, and we never even got around to planting them. Uff. Moving on…

Last summer was definitely our most successful year to date, and we are still enjoying the bounty of vegetables we froze last year. We even grew our own cantaloupe and watermelon.

I know I probably posted these pictures last year, but I was proud of our (and mostly my husband’s) success. He was far more dedicated than I. ๐Ÿ™‚

20130408-134013.jpg

20130408-134030.jpg

20130408-134040.jpg

This year JR coaxed me into getting a true head start, so I started some of our own seeds indoors.

I never would have guessed, but he’s decided he really likes brussel sprouts. They’re kind of spendy compared to more standard veggies, so he requested them special. ๐Ÿ™‚

20130408-170159.jpg

20130408-170204.jpg
Somehow Boo got herself tangled with one of my flower pots while I was working on seeds, so I had a little more clean-up than I bargained for…

20130408-170259.jpg
I couldn’t even be mad at the poor girl because she was so terrified to have the end of that hanging basket stuck to her collar. The name “Boo” really is fitting for her.

And now for the running!

I worked extra this weekend at the farm to cover for a few people, and I did zero running. That meant early this morning I wanted to do at least a pseudo long run. I decided it was the perfect time for my “moment” of truth workout. Or, more like 75 minutes of truth.

Last year while training to break 2 hours for the half marathon, I did a run of 3 x 2 miles at goal pace (8:57/mile). With warm up, cool down, and about 2 minutes easy in between repeats it came to just about 9 miles.

I wanted to recreate it and see how my current fitness compares, and I decided to stick to the treadmill so I could accurately cover distance, and more importantly pace.

It wasn’t a cakewalk, but I made it!

I kept the first 2 repeats at 8:57/mile pace and then ran true goal pace of 8:45 for the last 2 miles. Exhausted and happy is how I finished, and then I went straight to the fridge for a giant glass of milk. ๐Ÿ™‚

I’m 12 days out from my race, so I think the timing is about perfect. I’m certainly not guaranteed a PR from one good workout, but it’s fun to know I’ve got a shot.

Happy April! I hope the gardening and running or the whatever-spring-brings-to-your-daily life is starting off well too.

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Boo the bulldog, Gardening and Yard Stuff, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Garden experiments & the moment of truth workout

  1. Terzah says:

    Great workout! It’s exciting that your race is so close.

    I love brussels sprouts too–I used to hate them, but am so glad I tried them again as an adult.

  2. I tilled our garden yesterday and can’t wait to begin planting. As a kid, a farm kid no less, I had no love for weeding and such, but as an adult I can’t wait to get out there.

  3. Olivia Stocum says:

    Wow, sounds like getting enough exercise shouldn’t be a problem for you!

  4. Heidi Nicole says:

    I miss having a garden (well, we always helped with my gmas) but part of me is glad I can’t kill a bunch of plants! Although I’m considering some apartment gardening. We’ll see. I did plant a few potted flowers yesterday (the cat likes to eat them, they are “cat safe”) and now its snowing today…go figure!

    Good luck with your race! I’m excited for you, its getting close!

  5. I know what you mean about it being sacrilege not to plant a garden. =) We both were raised country kids too. Enjoyed reading this post!

Leave a Reply

