Early Morning

I’ve always liked the idea of being a morning person, but I’ve never quite mastered the art.

If I’m fully immersed in training for a goal race I can generally coax myself up early *most* mornings to run. And if I have to be at work early of course I’m up. Other than that, I have a really hard time rising early if I don’t have to.

There’s usually laundry and dishes to wash, mail and bills to sort, and always laundry to fold, but who wants to do that first thing??

I really relish lying half awake under the covers for as long as I possibly can. It gives me time to wake up, then I can read a morning devotion and sip my steaming coffee until I’m ready to meet the morning.

Whether tired, lazy, achingly sore, or just reluctant — I love to sleep.

Every Sunday I have early morning calf chores though, so that means I’m up around 4:30 so I can be at the farm shortly after 5:00. (I’m lucky to have a great employee who works early morning the rest of the week so I can come in later and keep my hours somewhat under control.)

I know it’s good for me to monitor the morning routine and work through any problems, plus I usually see sights worth capturing before the sun comes up.

I thought I’d share some of the past few week’s Sunday morning sights with you. (That middle one is our milk truck.) Perhaps you’ve already seem them on my Instagram feed, but I think they’re worth a re-share. 🙂

20130326-042043.jpg

20130326-042058.jpg

20130326-042106.jpg

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Agriculture ( in general), Baby Calf Care and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Early Morning

  1. Heidi Nicole says:

    I’ve just started to work early morning runs back into my life…turns out I missed them. Okay, so I definitely missed only the morning running part, not the getting out of bed part – thats still really hard! My favorite part is watching the sun brighten the worlds. Sounds so cliche, but I love it!

  2. Suzanne says:

    I’m the same way about mornings. If I can get myself up and going early I feel like I get so much more accomplished. I’ve been getting up extra early (for me) the past two weeks on the farm and somehow still had energy left to run or bike at the end of several days. Hope your training for your goal race is going well!

  3. Terzah says:

    I’m a total morning person and I find that if I go with that, get my run done early, my whole day goes better. BUT this is very much contingent on going to bed early and getting adequate totals of sleep. Hard to do when my husband is NOT a morning person. But we do our best. :^)

  4. I’m generally a morning person but there are definitely those days when I’d rather sleep in than get up and run or be productive. Sadly, I think my days of sleeping in are over for a while… right now, it’s because my hips hurt too much to stay in bed, and in a week or 2, it’ll be because I have a newborn. But at least I’ll be ABLE to run again. Looking forward to that.

Leave a Reply

