It’s Still Winter in March

Happy spring! At least I think it’s supposed to be spring…

20130321-032936.jpg

With all the blowing snow, icy roads, and nightly temperatures below zero, it’s hard to believe that Wednesday marked the official change of seasons.

Remember back in January when I said temps below zero were pretty much gone by early February? Apparently I lied, because it was at least 5 below the other night.

Today is finally better though, with temperatures *almost* getting above freezing. The sun has warmed up the roofs enough that I can see (and hear) melted snow trickling down into large, wet puddles.

Boo and Calvin have both been out exploring and soaking up the afternoon’s rays.

20130321-033318.jpg

(Do you see Calvin sniffing around in the back, left?)

I think there might even be hope for running outside again soon. I had a nasty fall on the ice (just at the farm, not running) on Tuesday, and my lower back and butt are still sore and tender.

I decided the fall coupled with the rotten weather was a sign that maybe it was a good time for an easy week. Happily I did speed work on Monday, so I have no worries about keeping the pace and distance light through the weekend.

The last 3 weekends I’ve logged long runs of 10.5 miles, 10 miles, and 11.25 miles respectively, so I knew it was time for a cutback to my long run anyhow.

Once again, happy spring! And to all my fellow Midwesterners, let’s band together and pray that the snow and cold decides to cut us some real slack pretty soon. πŸ˜‰

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Agriculture ( in general), Boo the bulldog, Calvin and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

