Spring Means Babies!

Even though we have new calves all year long, there’s something special about the springtime babies.

Many of the area wildlife have their young in spring, and along with the Easter season it’s just a happy time of year to focus on new life.

I tried to remember this as I fed baby after baby after baby yesterday. 8 new calves had arrived by day’s end! Now today we haven’t had any; it always evens out like that eventually.

20130315-025008.jpg

20130315-024953.jpg

It doesn’t look particularly like spring around here with the slushy melted snow everywhere though.

A few nights ago I took this photo at dusk.

20130315-025325.jpg

We have since been trying to clean out the slush more between the calf hutch rows, but it’s impossible to stay ahead of. I’m just resigned that every March we’ll have a few challenging weeks as things melt. Our dry land really needs moisture though, so we’re thankful there is a lot of snow melt.

As you may imagine, the wet and icy conditions make it hard to run outside as often as I want. I keep chugging away on the treadmill and getting outside when I can. 5 weeks until race day, and I can hardly believe it’s coming up that fast!

I just may break 100 miles in March if I can stay on track. Still, I’m more focused on getting in a quality speed day and a long run each week than I am on a specific number of miles.

In some ways my body “knows” how to run and train for this distance because I’ve done it so many springs in a row. I’ve also gotten back to that level where an easy run truly feels easy — like second nature. I love that point in training, and it gives me confidence that it will indeed be a good spring racing season.

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Baby Calf Care, Running and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Spring Means Babies!

  1. Heidi Nicole says:

    Spring = babies…and mud. At least one of the two are cute! 😉

  2. Brit says:

    When I opened this post, I wasn’t sure if it would be about animal or human babies, haha. It sure does mean babies though. I have noticed that our ducks have been pretty frisky lately. I wonder if they will start to sit on their eggs?

    • Lisa says:

      I didn’t even think about that, but my title definitely suggests either…

      I’d nearly forgotten about your ducks! You’re going to have to post pictures of them soon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

