This is March in Minnesota

Rain, sleet, and snow — I think we had it all yesterday. But Friday was bright and sunny. Good thing I took advantage of the nice weather for my latest movie making masterpiece. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Last week I showed you the inside of the barn and the cows, so now I thought it was time to show the outdoor world and the calves.

Let me just say in advance, I can’t believe the intensity of my Minnesota accent. Maybe I’m just being hyper-sensitive, but I’ve never noticed my looong vowels and Midwestern expressions so much before. (You’ll have to let me know if you hear it too…)

Either way, I hope you enjoy this brief look around the farm. If you have questions, you know you can always direct them to yours truly.

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Baby Calf Care, Cows and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to This is March in Minnesota

  1. LOL @ 25 being nice. Oy! I love your accent – but yeah, you definitely say some long vowels where I would say short vowels.. I noticed “wagon” I had to take a second to figure out what you said. duh.

    That was a lot of rows of hutches, are their calves in all of them?

    • Lisa says:

      Yup, most of the hutches are full. I try to keep 5-10 empty so we’re always ready for new babies. I’m always monitoring when cows are due (so I know about how many babies to expect), and nearly every week we’re moving the oldest calves out of hutches, washing the hutches, and then getting them in rows ready for new babies. It’s definitely a continuous process!

  2. Rebecca says:

    Yep, that is definitely a Minnesota accent! Haha, I don’t think I have an accent either, but I’m sure my Texas drawl comes out.

  3. Nothing wrong with a Minnesotan accent. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Since moving to Colorado, I’ve been told by some people that I don’t have an accent, but then other people ask where I’m from and aren’t surprised when I say Minnesota. Once you get that long vowel sound ingrained in you, it’s hard to get rid of I guess!

    • Lisa says:

      Do you think Coloradans have an accent? That’s one area of the country I’ve never thought specifically about how their speech differs…

  4. Sadlebred says:

    When does it stop snowing up there? It is going to be 70 in Atlanta this weekend. We saw a few flurries this winter.

    • Lisa says:

      70 sounds amazing. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Snow is pretty normal through March, and in April we can still get some big snow storms but it’s less common. Usually the snow banks are melted by mid to late April. In May we might get flurries and a bit of snow, but if we do it melts quick.

Leave a Reply

