Stuck in the Snow

Earlier this morning I was pushing snow with this.

20130305-040454.jpg

It was going fine until I tried to scoop up a large pile of snow someone had left heaped on the edge of a downhill.

The skid loader got off balance so I tried to back up and correct it, but instead I made it worse and ended up like this.

20130305-040638.jpg

Needless to say, my husband was not impressed.

We had to pull the bucket out first, like so.

20130305-040806.jpg

20130305-040812.jpg

Notice the cattle looking on with curiosity?

Then we were ready to try to pull the skid loader out with this.

20130305-050725.jpg

Finally, success!

20130305-051147.jpg

I will be more careful in the future, absolutely I will. But to be honest, I know this will not be the last misadventure I’ll have while driving machinery. 😉

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in This and That and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Stuck in the Snow

  1. Brit says:

    Oh gosh, this story hits home. I am notorious for getting our tractor stuck in a swampy part of our yard while mowing. One time, when it was especially muddy, I got Chris’ Jeep stuck while trying to pull out the stuck tractor. Ultimately, I needed our neighbor, who has a bigger tractor, to come get everything unstuck. I felt like female driver of the year. :-/

  2. RAWR. I just typed out a long comment and then… my computer ate it. wah.

    From the picture it looks like you fell off in a hole or something – hard to tell with all that snow!!! It does look pretty, but man, so cold!

    • Lisa says:

      Hate it when the computer eats my comments. 😦 I sort of did fall in a hole. I was just off the road, and then as I kept trying to get out I got further down and made it worse. I’ve got to learn to stop earlier when I get stuck!

Leave a Reply

