Dairy Farm Videos

It’s been a while since I took a video on the farm, but yesterday the perfect opportunity presented itself.

It was mid-morning, and I was just going to check on a cow I was told had started calving about 1/2 hour earlier.

When I got to the maternity pen where the cow was, I could see the calf’s front feet coming just fine. Because she was a first-time mom we’d give her several hours to push before we would intervene. (For an older cow they will calve faster on average, so we would help pull the calf sooner.)

I had my phone handy, so I quickly filmed the cow and added some commentary.

Clearly I am no Barbara Walters. 🙂 It’s harder to sound eloquent than it seems, and avoiding “umm” can be challenging. Still, this is a true look at a cow starting to give birth. The second video shows the mother caring for her brand new calf, and I hope you enjoy these “behind-the-scenes” moments.

Baby is coming…

Baby is here!

I sound like such a dork in my narrations, but I suppose a lot of people feel that way about hearing their voice recorded. If you’ve got any questions please ask.

I also have a quick correction to share from my recent GMO post. My blog is nothing if not accurate, and it’s really important to me to share the best factual info I can. When I find an error you can trust me to correct it.

I was asking my husband more about the silage corn we grow, which is a BMR or Brown mid rib variety. I originally said (and thought) it was all non-GMO, but that’s not the case. It is correct that the BMR trait is a naturally occurring, non-GMO mutation that’s been selected for. But BMR corn is available with a variety of GMO traits too, and this is what we mainly plant. I apologize for this error, and I’m glad I got some more background info to correct it.

One last thing for today… For those of you on Pinterest. Yes, I’ve entered that realm of no return. Look for me as Lisa @ Cow Spots and Tales. I’ll also add the pinterest button here on my blog. I’m still getting the hang of it, so let me know if you’ve got any tips to share.

Have a great Friday!

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Baby Calf Care, Cows and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Dairy Farm Videos

  1. jena says:

    Oh my gosh I want to snuggle that little baby calf!

    (i don’t know why it caught me off guard, but you have the cutest accent. LOL..I always forget about other regions accents)

    • Lisa says:

      Ha, thank you! I think I need to practice the narration thing some more, but I’m sure I’d still have an accent to your Florida ears. 🙂 And don’t worry, I’ll pet the new baby for you. Wish you could see her in person though.

  2. Heidi Nicole says:

    Hi Tiger! Love the videos – this is a huge part of farm life that so many people miss out on and are weirded out by, at least in my experience so I’m glad you are sharing it!

    I hate the way I sound on video too, but I think you sound completely normal!

    • Lisa says:

      I figured the same thing, so when I had a good chance to get the video I wanted to share it with you all. I maybe should have put a small warning about the first video being the “real deal,” but I did call it Miracle of Birth. 🙂

Leave a Reply

