High Heels in the Barn

Saturday night when I pulled in at the farm it was already well past dark. I’d had a great day of talking social media and agriculture, but 4 hours in the car after a brain-buzzing full day had me wiped out.

Honestly, I think I’m spoiled because I commute 5 minutes to work, and I normally don’t sit at a desk for more than minutes at a stretch. I’d forgotten how stiff sitting all day can make a person!

I mentally went through the things I needed to check at the farm as I got close, and I hoped I wouldn’t find any surprise problems. J said things went rather slow feeding calves that night, but nothing too out of the ordinary.

It was mild out and I didn’t want to take time changing into my barn attire, so I just drove right down to the barn. As I clacked through the parlor and down the hall in my tall boots (ug, my feet were throbbing but I’ll get to that later) I thought about how funny the click of dress shoes sounds in there. And probably strange to the cows too! The pasteurizer settings and temperature were all good. Check.

Only 2 new babies were born, and they’d both eaten well. No other notes were in the office that couldn’t wait until tomorrow.

It had been a gorgeous day with snow melting, and I also checked the calf barns to make sure the curtains were about half up and enough fans were running to give proper airflow.

Yes – I really am in my white peacoat. I figure winter is almost over and I need to get it cleaned soon. ๐Ÿ˜‰

20130225-083509.jpg

Calves are so curious, and it didn’t take long for one to stick her nose out to sniff at me.

And that was the end of my anti-climatic farm check.

About my feet…

I know I said just a few weeks ago I’d refrain from posting ugly pictures of my feet, but I don’t know how to tell this story as well without doing so. Beware.

It was a frigid January with long hours tending calf hutches in the snow, and as I feared I definitely got frostbite on my baby toe. It went from dark purple to an angry red, and the clinic helpline said just to be careful not re-freeze it or snag it on anything.

It’s been healing ok, and I’ve still been able to run fine as long as I keep my laces loose. It is definitely swollen compared to the toe next to it, but I honestly don’t think it looks too bad. Close your eyes to avoid ugly feet photo from earlier this week.

*
*
*

20130225-084951.jpg

*
*
*

But the bright idea to wear my tall boots on Saturday was probably none too bright. I rarely dress up, and I really like to feel “put together” when I have the chance to go somewhere nice. My feet were fine for awhile because we were mostly sitting, and as heels go these are a comfortable pair. But by the end of the day they’d had enough of being squished into pretty toes. It’s a good thing no one cares if you drive with your shoes off. ๐Ÿ™‚

And by the time I returned to the farm it wasn’t bad to zip them back on for my quick check.

But when I surveyed my poor toe later at home I decided I need to stick to orthopedic flats for a few weeks. I won’t post my nearly skinless toe because that’s just creepy. Don’t worry, I still have my toe. I knew it would peel sooner or later so maybe this just helped along the natural heeling process. But lesson learned.

First off next winter I need to make sure I have proper sock layers and boots when it’s twenty below. And if I ever do this again I’ll treat it with a little more TLC; no more shoe vanity with sore toes.

If you’re wanting an update on my half marathon training I think it will be just fine. I ran Friday and skipped the weekend, but I should be good to go for a run tonight or tomorrow.

For putting up with all my feet talk I’ll leave you with some better photos. This little bull was moved outside yesterday when he was dry, and he posed nicely before going into his hutch.

20130225-090656.jpg

20130225-090700.jpg

Hope you are all having a great start to your week!

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Baby Calf Care, This and That and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to High Heels in the Barn

  1. Hope your toe heals quickly!

    I’m glad I’m not the only one who has done farm chores in heels! I used to go out and feed the horses in heels before work in the morning or on the way out for the evening. Gotta do what you gotta do!

    Oh, and that calf is SO adorable in his blanket!

  2. Terzah says:

    Very cute calf!

    I just don’t wear high heels any more at all–they are the devil. I think my years of tramping around New York in them are what has given me a bunion on my right foot and a proto-bunion on my left. I’d rather run for more years than wear pretty shoes.

  3. Brit says:

    So I’m kind of curious, what do you wear on your feet when you are working outside in super cold temperatures? I’m attached to my Uggs all winter, but I can’t imagine that they would be all that durable on a farm. Hope your toe heals soon!

    • Lisa says:

      Right now I have Bogs brand boots, and I generally wear out (literally through the heels to the rubber) a pair every year. I was just double layering cotton socks or wearing my omni wool pair when clean. Since the frostbite I have been religious about wool socks which helps. I think I will look for different boots next winter though. My husband generally orders these heavy duty things that arctic fisherman wear. They look so heavy & don’t come in women’s sizes, but I may give them a try next year anyway. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Suzanne says:

    Your poor foot, hope your toe is all better soon!

  5. Lisa says:

    Thank you for all the well wishes ladies! It’s so nice & appreciated. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

