An idea for a blog

Back when I started Cow Spots and Tales in 2010, I had some ideas about what it would be. But I also had a lot of uncertainty.

Being a blogger was a new undertaking, and I didn’t know where exactly it would lead.

One thing I certainly thought I would do was tell stories from the farm. I’d talk about how we feed calves and milk cows and the planting and harvest seasons of growing crops. I’d share recipes and post countryside pictures and have this nice little informative rural living and farm blog.

But… I also wanted to include my running endeavors. I’d already run 2 half marathons with my sights then set on 26.2, and most of the blogs I read (and still read!) were running-related.

During my first year, I think I did blog more about the specifics of the farm. There were stories to be told about how we care for new calves, tag calves, what cows eat, and even how we wash up 100+ bottles twice a day.

Eventually I felt like I’d covered most of the routine tasks, and I honestly just wasn’t great at being a recipe and food blogger. My running tidbits seemed to generate about as much interest as the farm info, and I also started writing more posts about agricultural and food system issues. These “big picture” posts always get lots of commentary and feedback, and I love the discussion that fosters.

While I still share the occasional unique story or farm mishap, I know I don’t blog about the daily stuff in as much detail because I *think* I’ve already covered it.

Even if it was 2 years ago. But since then I’ve gained new readers. I also know I can’t remember what I blogged about last February, so you probably can’t either.

Have I drifted too far from my roots?

I suppose this is a long way of asking if you have any questions about the day-to-day on our farm. Anyone?

Of course you can look up past posts in the archives, but new content is surely more top of mind and more often read. I’d like to make sure I write about what you’re wondering about, so please let me know.

And don’t worry, I’m not abandoning my running chatter or dog photos or weather commentary. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I just want to keep a good mix of topics here and make sure I’m still detailing firsthand info from the farm.

I’m also headed to a one-day conference this weekend, put on by AgChat, that should give me some ideas. If you follow me on twitter you probably notice the #agchat or #foodchat tags used in a continuous stream on occasional Tuesday nights. I’m not a faithful participant, but I like the discussion and ideas #agchat provides.

AgChat is about connecting those interested in agriculture and food via social media and engaging them in dialogue. Even about the big, controversial food issues. It’s also about helping farmers share their farm story, especially because more and more people didn’t grow up on farms and so have questions about how their food (plants and animals) is raised.

Obviously a topic that’s top of mind and important for me, so I hope the Friday snow doesn’t keep me from making the trip.

Because I’m being nostalgic about the blog this morning, I may as well share some photos from the archives. Enjoy! Don’t forget to let me know if you have farm or dairy questions you’d like me to blog about.

20130221-062931.jpg

20130221-063117.jpg

20130221-063043.jpg

20130221-063003.jpg

20130221-063146.jpg

20130221-063302.jpg

20130221-063321.jpg

20130221-063447.jpg

20130221-063558.jpg

20130221-063623.jpg

20130221-063639.jpg

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Agriculture ( in general), This and That and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to An idea for a blog

  1. Jena says:

    I love your blog, regardless of what you blog about. You’re life is so drastically different than mine (work wise/where you live), and i’m fascinated by that. I have my google reader separated by category, “mom, food, other, running, weight lifting, friends & fitness competition.” Yours is under friends – Plus we are wedding date TWINS!

    Hope you’re able to get to your conference (the high here is 80 on saturday!)

  2. Suzanne says:

    Love all your pictures! Having grown up on a small farm but lacking a lot of experience with dairy farming I always enjoy reading what you write about the farm. Have you thought about structuring your posts to where you cover certain things on certain days of the week? I read a lot of blogs that do that and it seems to work for them. I have too many random things that I seem to blog about so I’m not sure it would work for me.

    • Lisa says:

      Thanks for the ideas Suzanne; I will think on it. I worry that I’d end up running out of time to post on the days I was “scheduled” to and feel behind, but it could still be a good template. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Terzah says:

    I loved seeing those pictures (some of them again). I think your blog is a great mix and I’m interested in both the farm content and the running content. I’d say….just keep doing what seems right on that day!

  4. Bree says:

    I would put you into the friend category if I had them separated, too ๐Ÿ™‚ I of course love reading about the farming aspects because while I didn’t grow up on a farm, I lived near them and am sort of familiar. And of course running is a no-brainer.

    I’ve been thinking a lot lately about crops and specifically GMO crops and food. Perhaps you could speak a little to GMO’s if it’s applicable. I see a lot of anti-GMO information right now, I would like to hear your take on it. You always provide such good balanced information on these controversial topics!

Leave a Reply

