Shoveling Professional

It’s another gorgeous 30 degree February day, and I’m thankful for the mild weather because we’re still cleaning up from the weekend’s blizzard.

Calf hutches are particularly challenging after a heavy snow, as the yards and areas around the hutch basically need to be shoveled by hand.

We also need to get more dry straw bedding to all the babies and switch out their grain each feeding if it gets full of snow. At least it looks pretty because the white stuff equals a lot of work!

All the snow drifts aren’t moved by hand of course. Smaller skid loaders, plus the big payloader do the bulk of the work.

20130213-125834.jpg

20130213-025310.jpg

Impressive, right? ๐Ÿ˜‰

These hutches below are mostly shoveled out and just waiting for the loader to push away the accumulation of snowy chunks.

20130213-030147.jpg

We’ll get back to normal yet… Hopefully before the next big snowfall!

Running Tales

As pleased as I am with my new treadmill, it seems to have created an unexpected problem for me.

You see, it’s so easy to roll out of bed, put on shorts and a sports bra, and pound out a few miles on the treadmill, water bottle in arms reach.

The alternative, of course, is to check the temperature outside, put on an assortment of layers, debate about whether I need my ice spikes, wait until the eastern sky starts to turn light, and then take off for a few outdoor miles.

If the temperature is tolerable (and wind is at a minimum) it’s just plain more enjoyable to run in the great outdoors, but the convenience of the treadmill is winning more often than it should.

I know the only remedy is to get outside, so I’m going to make a conscious effort to do just that.

The treadmill, however, is good for winter speed work. I tackled 800 meter repeats this morning, and my body is already feeling it. After being on my feet all day I am absolutely tired.

I did the repeats at 7.5, 7.6, 7.7, and 7.7 mph – which tells me a few things. First, I’m at about the same point I was last year at this time. I’m in a reasonable starting position, but I’ve also got some work to do in chasing my goals. And that ladies, is what it’s all about!

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Baby Calf Care, Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Shoveling Professional

  1. Suzanne says:

    Glad you are enjoying the new treadmill!

  2. Heidi Nicole says:

    Its so white! Do you leave the sides of the hutches drifted with snow? We used to because it worked as insulation.

    And at least you are enjoying the convenience of the treadmill and not dreading your runs on it, that has to say something!

    • Lisa says:

      Yup, the sides (and top until it melts off) of the actual hutch can stay covered for good insulation. Unfortunately we still have to dig them out when we move out the calves…

      I guess I don’t always look forward to the treadmill, but at least I keep using it. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

