Groundhog Babies

Well, another Groundhog Day has come and gone. Did Phil see his shadow?

I guess I don’t even know.

Many years February 2nd arrives without me even realizing, but this year for some reason I was thinking about Groundhog Day about noon on Saturday.

We’d just had our 4th and 5th new calves of the day (twin girls) born, and the ever increasing number of babies got me wondering…

I guess the weather over the next weeks will tell whether a large number of Groundhog Day births means spring is near or still far away. 🙂

The twin girls were good sisters and so small and delicate at about 50 lbs. each. Like many winter twins around here they shared a calf warmer for awhile while the other was occupied.

20130204-101340.jpg

This furry little girl was also a welcome addition to the farm. I can’t believe how fuzzy and long these ears are!

20130204-101719.jpg

20130204-101728.jpg

Not to be forgotten during the busy weekend, Calvin and Boo were eagerly waiting for me when I came in for lunch. “Double trouble” was the first thought that entered my mind when I saw them…

20130204-101851.jpg

(No mischief was caused that I know of though.)

Somehow in the course of the busy weekend I didn’t manage my planned semi-long run at all. Zero miles was the precise total.

I got in a quick 20 minute jog this morning, so now I’ve convinced myself to try for about 6 miles tomorrow. Oh how I hope I can coax myself out of bed.

Wishing all of you a quickly arriving spring, and a belated Happy Groundhog Day!

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Baby Calf Care, Boo the bulldog, Calvin and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Groundhog Babies

  1. Heidi Nicole says:

    So cute!

    Have you seen the episode of How I Met Your Mother where Lily goes on about “Where’s the poop?” – its about her family dog and how he had this expression where they just knew he did something. This reminded me of it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

