A chilly entrance

January is the coldest month here in Minnesota, and normally once February arrives we can say goodbye to the worst of the extreme cold and negative temperatures.

Not so this year (though I know it’s only the 1st). February made a chilly entrance today, with my car thermometer reading -16* F as I made my way to the farm. It wasn’t windy so the cold didn’t feel quite as raw, but any temp below zero is pretty brisk!

I’m always amazed by how happy and cozy the babies stay in their hutches in this weather. As long as we keep them well bedded with straw and monitor opening and closing the side windows as weather dictates everything stays nice and dry.

This little heifer “smiled” nicely for the camera today at 11 days old.

20130201-033613.jpg

And just so you know, I promise to try and keep winter grumblings to a minimum going forward. πŸ˜‰ As I think back on January’s posts I know many of them related to the cold. It should be easier in February though because we are due to warm up this weekend and stay above zero, hopefully for good!

In my running world, I’m still happily embracing the treadmill. I think I’ve put about 25 problem-free miles on it (which is small in the grand scheme) but it’s enough to make me comfortable
it is in good working order. I’m hoping to get a semi long run in outside tomorrow if the weather cooperates. I’ve got my eye on the Earth Day 1/2 again in April, so I need to start building my endurance back up.

Also — I want to say thanks to all of you for your interest and excitement about my little interview and article. I was touched by how many of you commented and want to read it. Lo and behold, it is online. However, because it contains personal details about myself and family, where we live, etc, I don’t really want to plaster it on my blog.

If you’re a legit reader who wants the link, just send me an email at cowspotsandtales@gmail.com. I know I only “know” most of you online anyhow, but I just feel more comfortable monitoring who I send it to. Hope you understand.

With that, I’m off to finish Friday chores and hopefully get done early. I’ve got a hot date with a warm fire, 2 cuddly dogs, a new netflix … and my husband later tonight. πŸ™‚

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Baby Calf Care, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A chilly entrance

  1. Bree says:

    The treadmill is a necessity in our part of the world unfortunately. I hope you are right about us being above zero from now on! I would love to run earth day again his year but I don’t think I will be ready for a 1/2 that soon.

    (Ps I would love to read that article!)

    • Lisa says:

      I don’t know how I used to convince myself to run outside in well below zero temps. I worry I’m getting wimpy though, so I need to abandon the treadmill & venture outside when I can. Are you thinking of any particular races this year after the 7K??

  2. date night date night date night! (I get very excited for them)

Leave a Reply

