Dairy and Running

Dairy and running. That sums up the overview of my blog pretty well, wouldn’t you say?

So when a local newspaper wanted to talk to me about my social media involvement as a farmer and runner I could hardly say no. ๐Ÿ™‚

They’re doing a series on farmers and how they tell their story of raising food and farming through online means (Facebook, twitter, blogging, etc.) They’d also heard I was part of this thing called Team Refuel with chocolate milk, and they wondered how that fit into the mix.

I always have “stage fright” about being featured for something like this, and I worry that perhaps my writing and opinions are lacking somehow.

But then I remember everyone starts somewhere. I may not be the best blogger or tweeter, but maybe I can still inspire someone out there to start out in the social media world.

I feel like it’s especially important for farmers because there are so few people directly involved in farming these days. Many people worry about where the foods in the supermarket are coming from and even how the cows are treated that produce the milk to make the cheese and yogurt they buy. I feel like people want and need to hear directly from farmers (instead of special interest groups with scare tactics).

If more farmer voices can be heard on the Internet I’m all for it.

So I did the interview, and I tried to share sound advice about how I got started and what I write about. Mostly I babbled on too long about my running and farming interests in general. I also pointed out the great online community I’ve found — the fact that I’ve actually become friends with people online mostly through our common interest in running and perhaps I’ve helped them learn something about dairy farming in the process. ๐Ÿ™‚

Actually, doing this little interview made me reflect on how much I value you, my readers. I love this space, where I’m free to express my joys, challenges, and sorrows. I appreciate your feedback, and I enjoy following along with many of you on your blogs as well.

Thank you readers!

And courtesy of Star Publications, these nice photos…

20130129-071533.jpg

20130129-100113.jpg

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Cows, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Dairy and Running

  1. Suzanne says:

    Hope the article turns out great!

  2. Terzah says:

    I love hearing from real farmers and ranchers–it makes me feel more confident about my food choices (and I live in a town where there’s a lot of hot air about food and farming issues–it’s hard not to get caught up in it).

  3. Love the pink Carhartt hat!

    Please link to or post the article once it’s published!

  4. Tara says:

    That’s super cool! Congrats on being famous. ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. sweatykid says:

    What a blast! I hope the interview makes it onto the internet so we can check it out… throw a link on here if it does?

  6. Cassie says:

    Yay for you Lisa! I’m so thrilled that you were interviewed by a local newspaper! I loved your comment above about small-time media “out here” ; ) but if the artical featuring you does appear online, please share it with us! The pics of you are wonderful! Congrats!

  7. MNGobbleGal says:

    Very cool, Lisa – way to go!!

  8. This is awesome! Congrats!

Leave a Reply

