Extremes

You know that crackling sound you hear as you toss a bucket of water to the ground when it’s so cold the water droplets freeze almost instantly as they hit?

If not, don’t worry. You aren’t missing too much. πŸ˜‰

Le sigh. Yes, we’re in a deep freeze around here. The weather girl said it was -19* with almost -40* windchill yesterday, and this morning 27 below zero actual temperature is what the news said. I didn’t see a thermometer dip quite that cold, but I’m still willing to believe it.

I tend to worry, worry when it gets like this — even though there’s nothing I can do to change the weather.

I worry about the morale of our employees and whether everyone is warm enough and properly clothed. I worry about the animals, especially the baby calves, even though I’ve got a healthy, happy bunch so far this winter.

{Interlude}

Doesn’t this expectant mama look happy and smug with her frosty whiskers?

20130121-102748.jpg

The sun is deceptive… it’s chilly today!

20130121-102915.jpg

I took this just 5 nights ago when it was still above 30* as we put out calf bottles for the evening feeding. Extreme weather swings I do say.

20130122-113326.jpg

{End Interlude}

And, I worry about myself. I worry about my own ability to endure another bitterly cold day and keep a smile on my face. Attitude, my 2013 word, is definitely everything.

And an attitude of God’s grace and peace is what I’m really leaning on these days.

My head and even my heart believe this, but it’s still hard to keep my tingling fingers and toes remembering it at the end of the day.

Speaking of, anyone know anything about purple toes?

My feet have been typically chilly, but my left baby toe was an ugly purple, later changing to angry red last night. Now it’s just swollen and appears to be blistering.

I’ve even taken to running my treadmill miles sans socks lately because I can hardly get my shoes over my swollen toes. I need to track down the few pairs of extra thin ones I have, but I think they’re still buried in moving boxes.

I’ve decided I’m morally opposed to posting an ugly picture of my feet, but I suspect at least the one toe has frostbite. Do I just baby it and try to keep it warm, or do I need to go in and see a doc?

I suppose that’s what the nurse helpline is for!

And that’s probably enough about the cold. I will say that I’m incredibly grateful for my new employee so I don’t have to go it alone at night with the calves, and for my new treadmill that’s letting me run in climate-controlled comfort. (Even though it’s making me wimpy about getting outside when I probably could.)

Soon enough it will be July, and I’ll be lamenting the 90 degree heat and humidity. Isn’t that how it goes? πŸ˜‰

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Baby Calf Care, Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Extremes

  1. Heidi Nicole says:

    Yikes. That is crazy cold! With all my family in WI/MN I’ve been hearing a lot about the could. Even some people in ND with -40. Crazy talk! I do not miss it at all. I was layered up with leggings and jeans a few weeks ago just to go to the grocery store – it was about 5 degrees then.

    Now its 65, which is amazing. Well, it feels amazing. We’ll probably severely pay for it this summer since we have had maybe 8 inches of snow total and are so incredibly dry…I’m a little afraid of the wildfires this year!

  2. Brrr! You are tough. Hope your toes feel better.

  3. jena says:

    I’m just baffled by the negative temps. That is just…..ridiculous. You need a Florida vacay ASAP (or SOMEWHERE warmer than where you are). I don’t know what to tell you about those toes, if it were Chris, i’d make him go to the Dr.

    • Lisa says:

      Thanks for the support Jena. πŸ™‚

      Yes– I finally did call the nurse line, and she basically confirmed I’ve got frostbite. But, she also said there’s nothing they can do if I come in. I’m just supposed to keep it warm, protected and free from rubbing. She says it’s almost the exact same as a burn (which is what it looks like) and I have to let it heal.

  4. Terzah says:

    Our cold snap is over, but yes it it tough to endure. Just keep those July thoughts in your head and make the best of the treadmill–I’m so glad you have it.

    I’m sorry about the toe. That would freak me out and send me to the doctor pretty quickly.

    • Lisa says:

      Thanks Terzah. Happy Birthday to you!! Enjoy that fabulous 40’s decade and all the good times & running successes I know it will bring you. πŸ™‚

  5. Bree says:

    Sorry about the frostbite – that does not sound good. Hopefully it isn’t something you have to deal with long term.

    I am not a fan of the cold, but whenever we have these extremes I think about which one I would rather have…heat and humidity or the below zero stuff. Not that I enjoy this at all, but at least with cold you can always add more layers. In summer, you can only do so much to cool off if you are outside.

    • Lisa says:

      I know — I keep thinking about the misery of summer humidity and trying to see the positives of chilly weather. Honestly, as long as I’m moving around and the wind isn’t bad I can handle the cold pretty well. πŸ™‚

      Take care with those twins in this weather. I’m sure it’s hard even loading & unloading when it gets so freezing!

  6. Suzanne says:

    Ouch, hope your toes feel better soon! I can’t even imagine temperatures that cold. The 20’s are cold enough for me.

Leave a Reply

