Someone’s Having a Baby

Can you guess who?
.
.
.
And no, like it or not, that someone isn’t me. In fact, it isn’t even a person. It’s a cow. A certain dairy heifer named Etta to be precise!

When I was going through and entering the records from the farm she’s at, I noticed there were quite a few new pregnancies. They must have done a vet check just after the new year. I’m always interested to go through the info, and I was especially excited to see the note “Preg” next to 3337.

Etta isn’t very far along yet, but at 45 days the vet was able to give her a definite positive. (33-35 days is about the soonest the vet will check for pregnancy.)

She’s due on August 31, meaning she should calve with her first baby just a few weeks before her 2nd birthday on Sept 20. I’m already hoping for a girl of course, πŸ˜‰ but a healthy, full-term calf is the biggest goal.

She’ll come back to our farm about 90 days before she’s due, putting her arrival at the end of May. I may see her in the meantime, but I can’t wait to have her back here full time.

For now, I thought I’d share a few photos from the archives.

20130108-104221.jpg

20130108-104231.jpg

20130108-104254.jpg

20130108-104953.jpg

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Baby Calf Care, Henrietta (Etta for short!) and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Someone’s Having a Baby

  1. Rebecca says:

    Awww, congrats to Etta! Seems so young to have a baby already, how old did you say cows start getting impregnated? (Sorry, I think you used a more technical term but I can’t remember it.)

    • Lisa says:

      I think I just used the term breed…(though yours may be more technical!)

      The earliest we let them calve is 1 year, 10 months, so they could be bred starting at 13 months. Usually they are able to get pregnant several months sooner, but we like to let them grow and develop to at least 13 months. Some farms will wait until 14 or 15 months to breed for the first time too. It just depends on management and also a cow’s own cycle on when you first see her come “into heat” or ready to breed.

      More info than you wanted I’m sure. πŸ™‚

  2. Terzah says:

    Hopefully Etta will enjoy her pregnancy! I enjoy my kids, but pregnancy made me feel like, well, a dairy cow. She’s probably more used to that feeling–or will be soon. :^)

  3. Sadlebred says:

    I’m so glad Etta will be having a calf or heifer soon! Can’t wait to see the photos! I’m the one that named Etta. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

