Attitude is Everything

Attitude is everything.

Have you heard that before?

I remember back in elementary school my teachers would say this little phrase. I’d either whole-heatedly embrace it or possibly be annoyed, depending on the day.

In my life now the importance of attitude becomes more evident to me all the time. A positive attitude in those around me at work or family can be contagious — in a good way. Unfortunately negativity can also easily spread, acting like an oozing poison to everyone around.

As I thought about making a resolution or list of yearly goals for 2013, I came up blank. I just didn’t even feel like it.

Then I felt myself drawn toward something more intangible. A word. Attitude.

While I like to think of myself as an optimist, lately I don’t know if it’s true.

I feel more and more behind in my work and home life, and I’ve let stress and worry steal my joy in the small things.

Even routine problems, like working late, bad weather, or having to cover for an absent employee have nearly sent me over the edge.

We’ve also had many changes this year, and with them come the responsibilities of more time, work, and financial sacrifice. Sometimes it just makes me feel caught, like I can’t even breathe. And sometimes it just seems easier to wallow. It’s like I want to stay stuck in my rut.

My husband has remarked that I seem more worried and unhappy lately. I appreciate his honesty because it made me take a look at myself. Is this really me? What happened to the tireless enthusiasm I used to view my life with?

Certainly everyone has up and down days, but I want to have mostly up ones! And the beauty is, I can make that happen because I know happiness is a choice.

We can’t control everything that happens to us, but our response and reaction to the good, the mundane, and the bad are something we can. Happy people don’t have perfect lives. They choose basking in the sliver of light instead of lamenting the darkness.

I don’t really believe in coincidence because I believe in the divine. The devil absolutely has power in this world, and he can throw awful things in your path. But Christ is always stronger. He can bring so many blessings into life, and an example of this nearly smacked me in the face yesterday.

Just after I decided to ask God to change my heart and help me build a more positive attitude this year, I came across a new-to-me blog.

For the second year Melanie at Only a Breath is doing a “one word” challenge for the year. She picks a word she focuses on and works toward, which is exactly what I plan to do. She encourages others to do likewise, and she’ll make a free one word button for anyone who wants. Just visit her blog to get yours! Plus, you can also link up to her blog monthly to stay accountable on your journey.

It sounds like this one’s for me.

OneWord2013_attitudeIn 2013, my focus is attitude, and my mantra is “Change my heart, O God.” For without God, we all have a heart of stone. With God, we can have goodness, mercy, compassion, love, positivity, and a heart of flesh.

“And I will give you a new heart, and a new spirit I will put within you. And I will remove the heart of stone from your flesh and give you a heart of flesh.”  Ezekiel 36:26

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in This and That and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Attitude is Everything

  1. Terzah says:

    I love that verse, too. And I could use a little attitude adjustment a lot of the time. Happy New Year, Lisa!

  2. Jess says:

    Beautiful post, love your honesty. I’ve got a list of random goals for myself, and I’ve been trying to find one word to encompass them all… I have some more thinking to do on that. It’s so much easier to be centered and focused on a goal when you have one word to echo around in your brain. Attitude, what a great choice!

    • Lisa says:

      Thanks Jess; good to hear from you! Sometimes sitting down to write seems to be the best way for me to be honest with myself when I’m struggling.

  3. I think this is a great idea! Definitely an area I could work on growing in too.

  4. Suzanne says:

    What a wonderful idea! I can’t help but think of one of my favorite praise and worship songs when I hear “change my heart, O God.”

  5. Pingback: Attitude Studies – January | Cow Spots and Tales

Leave a Reply

