“Fun with Goals” Revisited

One of the great things about blogging is it provides a common place to collect and store your thoughts and look back on them year after year.

Since I started blogging I’ve been more consistent about writing down goals and checking on them, which really does make them more likely to happen.

Back in January I typed out some yearly goals, which can be found right here.

While not perfect, I did make some progress.

I wanted to work on being “neater and more organized,” which is going better in some parts of my life than others.

We’re holding onto our old house for the time being, so we’re not fully moved out yet. It’s nice to have the flexibility, but it’s just been leading us to take longer with the process. Keeping up two houses also has its challenges — both time-wise and financially. Currently it’s a mess of partially packed boxes, random furniture, and junk that just needs to be thrown out.

I’ve been doing better in the new house by putting away things as we move them in and keeping un-needed items to a minimum. It’s working pretty well so far, and I love the open, uncluttered rooms.

The office at the farm is another area I should be more organized in, but I think that’s a whole post for another day. πŸ™‚

This leads right into the next goal of getting a new house. We accomplished this one unexpectedly on an August morning by buying a farm place at auction. It’s been challenging to finish moving now that winter is here, but we just keep working on it.

Here’s a brief look upstairs,

20121229-100218.jpg

20121229-100404.jpg

And the current project room…

20121229-100457.jpg

The next item, running a half marathon in under two hours , I’ve already talked about ad nauseam. But YES, I reached it with a 1:54 back in April. πŸ™‚

I also had a plan of more reading and study time.

I know I have been more intentional about picking up my Bible, which has been a blessing this year. Beyond that, I don’t think I read a single other complete book. I still did not finish Anna Karenina , but I hear it’s been made into a new movie. Perhaps I can just forgo the last 300 pages and go see it? My husband also started getting the Wall Street Journal this year, and I’ve been keeping up on world and national events better due to the paper.

Staying healthy and maintaining fitness was another of my goals. Yes, I think I can say I’m on track with this one. My work keeps me active, and my running, while it varies in volume, is always good physical and mental exercise. I try to take care of myself the best I can, and I feel good about it!

Keeping up with my blogging and our blog calf Etta also made my goal list. The blog is still here, and while Etta updates have been sparse lately I’ve actually posted about her a good deal through the year.

Currently she is at another farm site so it’s been hard for me to share photos. We don’t have enough room for all our heifers at the main dairy farm, so they go to another farm at about 9 months of age and stay about a year. They come back to us approximately 90 days before they are ready to have their first calf. That way they have time to readjust and settle in before they deliver baby and start milking.

20121229-103643.jpg

Young Etta

The blogging itself is still fun, and I post as the topic or mood strikes. Looking back the amount of content I’ve generated in 2.5 years actually overwhelms me!

My last goal to explore is probably the one I did worst at. We took no real vacations, though we did get to several weddings and dairy conferences. One was even across the border in South Dakota! No airplane rides for me this year though.

I know that travel isn’t so feasible in our life right now, but I’m happy for the chance to eat out or spend an evening with family and friends when we can. Sometimes these small things are the best break. And someday far away, maybe we can take a big getaway again. For now I’ll just keep dreaming. πŸ˜‰

I’m still pondering my 2013 goals, though I did share my running goals earlier this month. I’ll reflect a little more and be back with my list next year.

What are some of your 2013 goals?

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Agriculture ( in general), Running, This and That and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to “Fun with Goals” Revisited

  1. I too am debating what goals I want to make for 2013. I just started my blog and feel it will be a great way for me to stay on track for things I “say” I want to do. It is also nice to hear encouragement from others and reading blogs to see goals that others have achieved, such as yourself! It is refreshing and inspiring!

  2. Heidi Nicole says:

    It is crazy to think Etta has been around so long – time really does fly! I am not one to make annual goals, but I do have some plans for the year. One of them to get finally get rid of this chest cold and run….its been a long time!

  3. Anna says:

    You did really well with your 2012 goals…congratulations! I’m looking forward to setting mine for 2013…new year, new home, new country = new races πŸ™‚

  4. Terzah says:

    A successful year for you on all fronts! Mine was mixed, but mostly good–I’m hoping 2013 will be better, but one thing I have done (that I didn’t even know was a goal) is get better at rolling with the punches. That should serve me well, right? Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

