Through new eyes

Tis the season, readers,

If you’re anything like me, these next few days will be a flurry of baking, wrapping, travel, worship, and celebration. (Mixed in with caring for the cows of course!)

I want to take a minute now on the 23rd to wish you and yours the very best. Calvin and Boo join in with the well-wishes too. I think they may be guarding the door waiting for baby Jesus or Santa or perhaps something like food —

20121223-042155.jpg

20121223-042206.jpg

2 years ago I wrote and posted a Christmas Perspective for my blog. I thought it deserved re-posting with a few edits, as I know some of you will be reading it for the first time.

It’s inspired by girls like these, who also join me in wishing you a very Merry Christmas.

20121223-042801.jpg

A Christmas Perspective

“Come on Bessie; let’s go” says my master methodically as he guides me into my stall for the night. “Okay, okay,” I think to myself, “I’m a-going.”

As I get settled in, I see the familiar feed appear in my manager, but it doesn’t look quite as full as normal. My master seems in a hurry, but I suppose he’s just busy with all the extra people. Something called a “census” is happening, and it’s really got things messed up.

In any event, I’m happy to see my old water bucket filled to the brim.

It’s a warm night here in Bethlehem, and I guess my appetite isn’t quite as large as I thought. Some hay is left in the manager – it will make a good midnight snack if needed. Now it’s definitely time for sleep. If only the donkey across the way wasn’t such a noisy sleeper!

“Well, I guess this will have to do,” I hear a man’s voice say. I’m half asleep, and I can’t help but wonder why someone is out here so late. I see the master coming behind the man, and they both turn to help a young woman off a small donkey.

“Great, another donkey is just what I don’t need” I think to myself.

Then I notice the young woman looks exhausted and has a very, very round belly. I suppose I can put up with another donkey for her sake.

I’ve witnessed plenty of animals give birth but never a person. Still, I guess that this woman, a girl really, looks like she’s ready to deliver at any moment.

I’m fully awake and alert now because the couple seems to be setting up camp right in front of me and my feed trough. This is definitely going to mess with my beauty sleep, but it’s also the most excitement in here since, well… since ever. And I’ve got a front and center view.

“Mary, how are you feeling,” the man asks. “Nervous,” whispers the young woman – who I now know is called Mary. “I think the baby’s coming tonight, Joseph,” she says with wide eyes.

Before Joseph can reply, my master comes into view. He ushers his wife toward the couple. Carrying some soft blankets and various clean cloths, the older woman smiles kindly at Mary and offers her some cool water as she helps her get comfortable.

“So strange…” I think to myself. Why in the world isn’t the couple staying in the inn like normal?

A short distance away, weary shepherds were also getting settled in for the night. It had been a long day, and they were tired as they tended the campfire and had a late supper.

Suddenly, a light unlike any they had ever seen appeared bright and brilliant in the sky. Shock was too mild a term to describe what these shepherds felt. The looks on their faces spanned emotions from awe to terror as they saw an angel appear in the bright light. The message the angel brought was this,

“Do not be afraid. I bring you good news that will cause great joy for all the people. Today in the town of David a Savior has been born to you; he is the Messiah, the Lord. This will be a sign to you: You will find a baby wrapped in cloths and lying in a manger.”

The angel gave praise to God with the words “Glory to God in the highest heaven, and on earth peace to those on whom his favor rests.”

Then the angels departed, and the shepherds knew they needed to get to Bethlehem, quick. Their sheep, their very livelihood, would just have to wait.

If God saw fit to tell them about this miracle, they absolutely needed to see for themselves. One turned to another and said, “Let’s go to Bethlehem and see this thing that has happened, which the Lord has told us about.”

Meanwhile, back at the stable…

Screams fill the air, and the tension is high as young Mary strains for long minutes that become hours. Finally, a different sort of cry pierces the night as a tiny pink creature wails its first breaths.

“It’s a boy,” they say, and his name is Jesus. As I watch the young mother swaddling her new baby in cloths provided earlier in the night, I can’t help but feel a peace permeate the stable in spite of the baby’s cries.

Joseph, who seems every bit the anxious father, takes the babe and nestles him in my feed manager so Mary can rest.

Who knew that my humble feed trough would ever be a baby cradle?

“There now little Jesus, sleep soundly,” whisper Joseph and Mary together. But sleep is not in the deal for the couple themselves, as a group of people are coming up to the stable. They look like shepherds, but I’m not sure why they’re visiting at this hour.

The shepherds stare in awe at the tiny babe in the manager and proclaim him a miracle. Mary and Joseph just smile knowingly as the shepherds relay that “an angel came to us and told us that Christ – the Messiah – had been born in Bethlehem.”

The shepherds glorified God, and gave thanks for the goodness they had seen.

As for me, just a humble creature, I too was filled with joy to learn the Lord himself had sent this tiny baby, the Messiah, to earth. I knew I wasn’t worthy to be present, but that didn’t seem to matter to God. He chose this place anyway.

On this special night, I’ve witnessed a miracle. “Glory to God in the highest heaven, and on earth peace to those on whom his favor rests.”

from www.bonniemohrstudio.com

May you be filled with the truth that God sent Christ for YOU that night in Bethlehem, and may you accept the gift of salvation that is freely given. Merry Christmas.

Biblical text from Luke, Chapter 2, New International Version

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in This and That and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Through new eyes

  1. Jane says:

    I hope your Christmas is full of peace and joy ❤

  2. Terzah says:

    Merry Christmas, Lisa (late, I know). :^)

  3. Kathy says:

    This is a great story – so well-written! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

