2012: My yearly running review

It’s that time of year when we all start to reflect on the past and look ahead to the future.

2013 starts in just a matter of days. How crazy does that seem?

Back in my blog archives, I can see I wrote both a general goals posts and a running-specific one at the beginning of 2012.

Today I’ll start by tackling the review of my running goals.

Basically, I wanted to:


– Break 2 hours in a half marathon
– Break 23:00 in a 5K
– Break 50:00 in a 10K
– Try a new distance I’ve not run before
– Find a running partner
– Be diligent about early morning runs
– Start thinking about marathon #2

If you want to read the full 2011 recap with 2012 goals post you can find it right here.

How’d I do?

That first goal is probably the one I’m most proud of. I diligently trained through winter and spring earlier this year and put in the work toward a great half marathon.

I was coming off a 2:12 PR, but I really felt like 1:59 was within reach.

In April I ran the Earth Day 1/2 Marathon, and was basically ecstatic to finish in 1:54. I followed it up 2 weeks later with a 1:55 on a more challenging course, and I basked in my half marathon success.

The 23 minute 5K was an interesting journey. I did a February 5K more as motivation to kick off my half marathon training strong. My PR was 23:58, and I wasn’t entertaining any hopes of besting it on an early February day.

I got off to a speedy start, the course was free of ice and snow, and I just had a magical day. I titled my race report Holy Cow! , as it aptly described my surprise at running 23:10.

Then, the rest of year I just got slower. šŸ˜‰ I did come close with a 23:12 on a hot August day, and my other 5K this summer was over 24 minutes.

While I didn’t break 23, I still set a PR. And I can keep working on this one in 2013.

There’s not much to report for 10K as I simply didn’t run one. I’m certain I’d have had a good shot at my goal this spring, but in my current shape I’m not so sure.

I did succeed at trying a new distance in 2012; I ran my first 10 mile race at the Twin Cities 10 mile from Minneapolis to St. Paul.

It was a very chilly October morning, but I loved the course and was pleased with my 1:27 finish. I hope to run this race again.

As far as a running partner goes, I think there may be hope for 2013. A local friend of mine has gotten interested in running this year, and she’s busily talking about her race goals for the coming year. We’ve even talked about a 2013 marathon…

Mornings are still my preferred time to run, and some days I get up better than others. I don’t think this is a goal I can make or break; it’s more of a continual process of motivation and priorities I need to keep on top of.

This brings me to the marathon. I’m not certain I’m ready for another this year. A summer race that happens to be in Duluth, MN is in the back of my mind. If I do 26.2 soon I think it will be at Grandma’s in June.

Whew — a whole year of running gibberish. Thanks for following along!

Now I suppose it’s time for the meat of the post. My goals for 2013.

Here’s what I’m thinking.


– Break 23:00 in a 5K (still going after it!)
– PR in a half marathon and/or 10K
– Do a race with a friend
– Take a long, hard look at marathoning this year

That’s all she wrote.

I know money will be tight this year, so I’ll likely do even fewer races than normal as I carefully pick and chose. I still hope to put in quality training and see success. Now I just hope the weather shapes up (or I toughen up) so I can get some more miles in right now.

Happy winter to you, and best wishes with your own fitness and health goals.

20121221-081504.jpg

20121221-081753.jpg

20121221-081838.jpg

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Race Reports, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 2012: My yearly running review

  1. jena says:

    Good Luck on your goals as we enter into 2013 (can’t believe it!) – I also can’t imagine running a marathon in JUNE!!! Apparently the weather must be much cooler than here in June! Merry Christmas to you & JR

    • Lisa says:

      Well… MN can get pretty hot in June, but usually Duluth is ok because it’s further north & gets the cool from Lake Superior. We shall see. I do know it’s cooler than FL. šŸ™‚

  2. sweatykid says:

    Looks like a freakin’ solid year of running to me. It’ll be fun to try and kick the 10K PR next year — that’s one of my wishes as well!

  3. Heidi Nicole says:

    I can tell you I had a lot of fun spectating Grandma’s! Right near mile 13 is a delicious breakfast place where we pigged out while waiting for our runner! šŸ˜‰

    You did awesome with your speedy spring races, not at all surprising that things slowed down with the heat of summer and busy fall season on the farm!

  4. Terzah says:

    I think you did great! It’s not like your training wasn’t uninterrupted–you had a big year between your normal work and moving. Congrats on a good year and here’s to another one coming up!

  5. Suzanne says:

    Great job with your running goals for 2012 and good luck with the ones you’ve set for 2013! It sounds like a sub-23 5K shouldn’t be any trouble at all for you!

Leave a Reply

